Sandeep Sharma wins the 6th Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare

    Sandeep Sharma and Varun Davessar in their Maruti Gypsy were overall winners in the 2014 Dakshin Dare extreme category.

    Published On Aug 11, 2014 01:15:00 AM


    Sandeep Sharma wins the 6th Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare

    Team Maruti’s Sandeep Sharma and Varun Davessar were declared winners in the overall extreme category registering a total time of 3:41:26, in their Maruti Gypsy. Sanjay Agarwal and Venu Ramesh Kumar also from Team Maruti, driving a Maruti Gypsy, kept their momentum going to retain their second spot with a time of 3:42:49. Defending champion of Dakshin Dare 2013, Amanpreet Ahluwalia and Sudeep Halder finished the rally at third position with a time of 3:44:56, after being 8th on the second day. Suresh Rana finished fourth with a total time of 3:47:01.

    In the Extreme Bike category, Mohit Verma outdid Nataraj to grab the first place, finishing the rally with the overall time of 3:29:15. The defending champion of 2013, Nataraj (3:33:30) and Pramod Joshua (3:35:37) stood second and third respectively.

    Team Maruti drivers Karthick Maruti and Sankar Anand driving the Ertiga came first in Endurance category with a total penalty time of just 2:13.  The second spot went to Sachin Singh and Prathima who finished with a penalty time of 2:51. Again in third place were Ganesh Moorthy and T Nagarajan of Team Maruti finishing at 3:10.

    The 6th Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare took place over 2000kms in a span of five days. Dakshin Dare was held for the first time through Northern Karnataka, covering locations like Tumkur, Hiriyur, Chitradurga, Bellary, Hospet, Hampi, Koppal, Hubli and Karwar.

    Manohar Bhatt, VP - marketing, Maruti Suzuki said, “The rally touched new heights with the new route throwing up unexpected and daunting challenges. The skill and the spirit showcased by the participants has been exemplary.”


    Final Results
    Extreme Cars
    Sandeep Sharma/Varun Davessar (3:41:26)
    Sanjay Agarwal/Venu Ramesh Kumar (3:42:49)
    Aman Preeth/Sudeep Halder (3:44:56)
    Extreme Bikes
    Mohit Verma (3:29:15)
    Nataraj (3:33:30)
    Pramod Joshua (3:35:37)
    Karthick Maruthi/Shankar Anand (2:13)
    Sachin Singh/Pratima (2:51)
    Ganesh Moorthy/Nagarajan (3:10)

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.


    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now
    Search By Car Price
    Poll of the month

    Which was your favourite Car, SUV at Auto Expo 2023

    Maruti Suzuki Jimny



    Maruti Suzuki Fronx



    Maruti Suzuki eVX concept



    Tata Harrier EV



    Tata Sierra



    Hyundai Ioniq 5



    Hyundai Ioniq 6



    Kia EV9 concept






    Toyota Land Cruiser 300



    Total Votes : 3502
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe