Nico Rosberg wins Bahrain Grand Prix

    Rosberg extends F1 points lead with Bahrain Grand Prix victory

    Published On Apr 03, 2016 10:33:00 PM


    Nico Rosberg wins Bahrain Grand Prix

    Nico Rosberg extended his Formula 1 championship lead with victory in the Bahrain Grand Prix as Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton recovered from a first-lap collision to finish third.
    Rosberg made the most of polesitter Hamilton's slow getaway to lead into the first corner and then was relatively comfortable at the front, finishing 10.2 seconds clear of Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen under the lights at Sakhir.
    Hamilton bogged down at the start but was second into Turn 1 before the Mercedes driver was T-boned by Valtteri Bottas, dropping him to ninth.
    The reigning world champion suffered front wing damage but was able to continue, carving his way back through the field to rescue third and remain within 17 points of title rival Rosberg.
    Raikkonen also recovered from a poor getaway but didn't quite have enough pace to seriously challenge Rosberg for the lead in the closing stages.
    Meanwhile, his team-mate Sebastian Vettel did not even make the start after suffering an engine failure on the formation lap.
    Romain Grosjean continued Haas's brilliant start to the season with a superb fifth, having done three stints on the super-soft tyres, one place behind Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo.
    Toro Rosso's Max Verstappen bolted on a set of super-soft tyres late and surged past Felipe Massa to take sixth, with Red Bull's Daniil Kvyat also passing the Brazilian on the penultimate lap to take seventh.
    Massa ran second early on after an impressive start, but dropped down the field as Williams opted for a two-stop strategy with two stints on the medium and he ended up eighth.
    Bottas, who had a drive-through penalty for causing a collision with Hamilton at the start, was ninth while McLaren's Stoffel Vandoorne, standing in for the injured Fernando Alonso, scored a point on his F1 debut with 10th.
    Kevin Magnussen was 11th, ahead of Sauber's Marcus Ericsson, who had a feisty battle with team-mate Felipe Nasr, with the two making contact in the early stages.
    The Swede came out on top and ended up 12th, with Nasr finishing down in 14th and complaining on team radio that the car "is terrible to drive".
    Pascal Wehrlein finished an impressive 13th for Manor with the Force Indias of Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg 15th and 16th respectively.
    Carlos Sainz Jr looked well-placed when the highest runner on the softs early on, but he picked up a puncture when he was clipped by Perez and later retired.
    While Grosjean scored points for the second successive race, there was heartache for Haas team-mate Esteban Gutierrez who was running in the points one place behind Grosjean before pulling into the pits and retiring the car.
    Jenson Button retired with an ERS problem while Renault's Jolyon Palmer pulled into the pits at the end of the formation lap with a hydraulics issue.
    1Nico RosbergMercedes1h33m34.696s
    2Kimi RaikkonenFerrari10.282s
    3Lewis HamiltonMercedes23h26m25.s
    4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull/TAG Heuer23h26m25.s
    5Romain GrosjeanHaas/Ferrari23h26m25.s
    6Max VerstappenToro Rosso/Ferrari23h26m25.s
    7Daniil KvyatRed Bull/TAG Heuer1 Lap
    8Felipe MassaWilliams/Mercedes1 Lap
    9Valtteri BottasWilliams/Mercedes1 Lap
    10Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren/Honda1 Lap
    11Kevin MagnussenRenault1 Lap
    12Marcus EricssonSauber/Ferrari1 Lap
    13Pascal WehrleinManor/Mercedes1 Lap
    14Felipe NasrSauber/Ferrari1 Lap
    15Nico HulkenbergForce India/Mercedes1 Lap
    16Sergio PerezForce India/Mercedes1 Lap
    17Rio HaryantoManor/Mercedes1 Lap
    -Carlos SainzToro Rosso/FerrariRetirement
    -Esteban GutierrezHaas/FerrariRetirement
    -Jenson ButtonMcLaren/HondaRetirement
    -Sebastian VettelFerrariNot started
    -Jolyon PalmerRenaultNot started


    1Nico Rosberg50
    2Lewis Hamilton33
    3Daniel Ricciardo24
    4Kimi Raikkonen18
    5Romain Grosjean18
    6Sebastian Vettel15
    7Felipe Massa14
    8Max Verstappen9
    9Nico Hulkenberg6
    10Daniil Kvyat6
    11Valtteri Bottas6
    12Carlos Sainz2
    13Stoffel Vandoorne1
    14Kevin Magnussen0
    15Jolyon Palmer0
    16Marcus Ericsson0
    17Sergio Perez0
    17Pascal Wehrlein0
    19Felipe Nasr0
    20Jenson Button0
    21Rio Haryanto0


    3Red Bull/TAG Heuer30
    6Toro Rosso/Ferrari11
    7Force India/Mercedes6


    Copyright (c) Autocar Professional. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1319
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe