Indian GP: Vettel stays on top in FP2

    Sebastian Vettel once again headed the timing charts, with Mark Webber in second place.

    Published On Oct 25, 2013 09:14:00 PM


    Indian GP: Vettel stays on top in FP2

    Red Bull claimed another one-two in second Indian Grand Prix practice, as Sebastian Vettel again led Mark Webber.

    As had been the case in the morning, Mercedes' Nico Rosberg offered a plucky challenge to the Red Bulls.

    On the medium compound tyre, Rosberg emerged with the honours, beating Webber by just 0.001 seconds.

    Times were over a second faster on softs, and Vettel's early 1m25.722s secured the top spot with an hour to spare, as teams then switched to long-stint tyre work.

    Webber repeated the practice one Red Bull symmetry by grabbing second, 0.289s slower than his team-mate, who is poised to secure a fourth consecutive Formula 1 title this weekend.

    Rosberg was only sixth on soft tyres, behind Romain Grosjean's Lotus, the second Mercedes of Lewis Hamilton and Ferrari's Fernando Alonso.

    Following his morning gearbox issues, Alonso made up for lost time with 37 laps of running. His team-mate Felipe Massa was seventh.

    Kimi Raikkonen got into the top 10 this time in eighth, but was half a second down on team-mate Grosjean.

    The McLarens completed the top 10 spots.

    Pastor Maldonado provided the most notable incident when his Williams shed a wheelnut on track. He managed to coax the loose-wheeled car back as far as the pitlane entry before having to park.

    Paul di Resta was back in action for Force India after his earlier illness and took 15th place, 0.2s and three spots behind his team-mate Adrian Sutil.

    Pos Driver                Team                    Time        Gap    Laps
     1. Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault        1m25.722s           35
     2. Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault        1m26.011s  +0.289s  38
     3. Romain Grosjean       Lotus-Renault           1m26.220s  +0.498s  36
     4. Lewis Hamilton        Mercedes                1m26.399s  +0.677s  36
     5. Fernando Alonso       Ferrari                 1m26.430s  +0.708s  39
     6. Nico Rosberg          Mercedes                1m26.582s  +0.860s  40
     7. Felipe Massa          Ferrari                 1m26.601s  +0.879s  41
     8. Kimi Raikkonen        Lotus-Renault           1m26.632s  +0.910s  32
     9. Sergio Perez          McLaren-Mercedes        1m26.857s  +1.135s  40
    10. Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes        1m26.972s  +1.250s  39
    11. Daniel Ricciardo      Toro Rosso-Ferrari      1m27.304s  +1.582s  17
    12. Adrian Sutil          Force India-Mercedes    1m27.375s  +1.653s  36
    13. Valtteri Bottas       Williams-Renault        1m27.429s  +1.707s  31
    14. Nico Hulkenberg       Sauber-Ferrari          1m27.491s  +1.769s  40
    15. Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes    1m27.608s  +1.886s  38
    16. Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Renault        1m27.720s  +1.998s  23
    17. Esteban Gutierrez     Sauber-Ferrari          1m27.949s  +2.227s  34
    18. Jean-Eric Vergne      Toro Rosso-Ferrari      1m28.431s  +2.709s  30
    19. Giedo van der Garde   Caterham-Renault        1m28.692s  +2.970s  39
    20. Jules Bianchi         Marussia-Cosworth       1m28.799s  +3.077s  32
    21. Charles Pic           Caterham-Renault        1m29.366s  +3.644s  37
    22. Max Chilton           Marussia-Cosworth       1m30.164s  +4.442s  27


    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    Would you buy an electric Royal Enfield?

    Yes, electric mobility is here to stay and we must adapt



    No, it's not a proper Royal Enfield without the sound and feel



    Total Votes : 1176
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe