2021 JK NRC: Vishnu Prasad, Anish D Shetty crowned champions

    This is Vishnu Prasad's 14th LGB Formula 4 title. Ruhaan Alva won the Novice Cup title.

    Published On Feb 28, 2022 12:55:00 PM


    Listen to this Article

    Anish D Shetty became the first-ever Royal Enfield Continental GT Cup title winner as the 2021 JK Tyre National Racing Championship (JK NRC) wrapped up at Coimbatore’s Kari Motor Speedway. The finale also witnessed Vishnu Prasad score his 14th national title as he won the LGB Formula 4 title, while Ruhaan Alva was crowned the Novice Cup champion.

    • Shetty defeats Xavier in Royal Enfield Continental GT Cup
    • Prasad scores his 14th national title
    • Alva wins Novice Cup title

    Royal Enfield Continental GT Cup

    The first race saw a photo finish, with Meka Vidhuraj edging Anish D Shetty past the chequered flag. But the overall title battle was down to just two riders, with Shetty leading from Allwin Xavier by just seven points.

    In the final race, Shetty zoomed into the lead, but Xavier and Vidhuraj were able to catch up and pass him to finish first and second, respectively. However, a third place result was enough for Shetty to be crowned the winner of the inaugural Royal Enfield Continental GT Cup. Xavier, who trailed by just four points, ended up second overall.


    Race 1

    1.  Meka Vidhuraj

    2. Anish D Shetty

    3. Allwin Xavier

    Race 2

    1. Allwin Xavier

    2. Meka Vidhuraj 

    3. Anish D Shetty

    LGB Formula 4

    The LGB Formula 4 category was probably the most hotly contested one with seasoned national champions battling it out on the grid alongside some promising rookies. Heading into the finale, the top five drivers were separated by just 12 points.

    LGB Formula 4 newcomer Amir Syed resisted pressure from Diljith TS to win the first race. Vishnu Prasad could only manage a fifth place result, but he still held on to the overall lead by one point. He inched closer to the title by winning Race 2, and a third place finish in Race 3 sealed the deal. This is Prasad’s 14th national title.


    Race 1

    1. Amir Syed (Ahura Racing)

    2. Diljith TS (Dark Don Racing)

    3. Ashiwn Datta (Dark Don Racing)

    Race 2

    1. Vishnu Prasad (MSport)

    2. Diljith TS (Dark Don Racing)

    3. Balaprasath (Msport)

    Race 3

    1. Arya Singh (Dark Don Racing)

    2. Ashwin Datta (Dark Don Racing)

    3. Vishnu Prasad (MSport)

    Novice Cup

    Ruhaan Alva already had one hand on the Novice Cup title, leading by a hefty 24 points ahead of the finale. He made that official by winning Race 1. His closest title rival, Jaden R Pariat, did make a splash at the finale by winning Races 2 and 3.


    Race 1

    1. Ruhaan Alva (MSport)

    2. Neym Rizvi (MSport)

    3. Aadithya Parasuram (Hasten Performance)

    Race 2

    1. Jaden R Pariat (MSport)

    2. Aadithya Parasuram (Hasten Performance)

    3. Neym Rizmi (MSport)

    Race 3

    1. Jaden R Pariat (MSport)

    2. Ruhaan Alva (MSport)

    3. Aadithya Parasuram (Hasten Performance)


    Also see:

    2021 JK NRC: Double victory for Arya Singh

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    Which according to you was India's first hot-hatchback?

    Fiat Palio 1.6



    First-gen Maruti Zen



    Chevrolet Optra SRV



    Total Votes : 1154
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe