Ducati triumphs in heavyweight class at 2018 Pikes Peak

Ducati triumphs in heavyweight class at 2018 Pikes Peak

26th Jun 2018 11:18 am

Multistrada 1260 takes it to the top. Here’s the list of winners across classes.

June 24 saw the 96th edition of the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb (PPIHC) unfold, with riders and drivers ‘racing to the clouds’. Ducati made a victorious return by reclaiming the heavyweight title it lost to KTM last year, with Carlin Dunne astride the 2018 Multistrada 1260 Pikes Peak. Dunne set a winning time of 9:59.102 min which is considerably slower than the 9:52.819 min time he set on a Multistrada Pikes Peak back in 2012.

Taking second place in the heavyweight class was Rennie Scaysbrook on a 2017 KTM 1290 Super Duke R with a time of 9:59.794 min. The difference between Dunne and Scaysbrook was just 0.692 seconds. Ducati’s second rider Codie Vahsholtz, also astride a 2018 Mutistrada 1260 Pikes Peak, took third in the heavyweight class with a time of 10:12.703 min.

In the middleweight class, it was Chris Fillmore who took first place on a 2018 KTM 790 Duke, setting an impressive time of 10:04.038 min. Interestingly, this is a faster time than Vahsholtz’s heavyweight class run astride the more powerful Multistrada. Following him in the middleweight class was Davey Durelle, (riding a 2007 Aprilia SXV) who set a time of 10:36.010 min. Not far behind, with a time of 10:38.380 min was Rafael Paschoalin on a 2017 Yamaha MT-09.

Another impressive climb was from rookie rider Tyler O'Hara in the lightweight class. He secured the top spot with a time of 11:04.342 min on a 2016 Yamaha YZ450F. Following him was Travis Newbold astride a 2005 Honda CRF with a time of 11:13.945 min. Darryl Lujan completed the podium with a time of 11:39.620 min. His motorcycle of choice was a 2013 Honda CRF450R.

In the electric motorcycle class, it was Jeremiah Johnson  who took first place on a 2018 University of Nottingham UoN-PP-02. Following him and taking second place was Robert Barber riding a 2018 Buckeye Current RW-3x. Times for the electric motorcycles have not yet been announced.


Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.