2022 Formula Bharat winners announced after virtual and on-track events

    The student engineering design competition returned to the Kari Motor Speedway this year, with a hybrid event held both online and on-track.

    Published On Apr 01, 2022 03:59:00 PM


    Listen to this Article

    GTU Motorsports and Team Kratos Racing were announced as the overall winners of the 2021-2022 Formula Bharat competition. After the last edition was held entirely online, this year adopted a hybrid approach, with virtual events as well as a return to on-track events at Coimbatore’s Kari Motor Speedway.

    • GTU Motorsports win in combustion category
    • Team Kratos Racing win in electric category
    • Registration for 2023 edition opens on May 9

    What is Formula Bharat?

    Formula Bharat is a student engineering design competition in which university and college students from across India build a life-size formula-style vehicle. The teams are evaluated in the areas of engineering design, overall cost, marketability and dynamic performance of the vehicles.

    You can think of Formula Bharat as a training ground for the future in motorsport. The main goal of the competition is to “encourage students to gain hands-on practical experience, while applying engineering theories studied in the classroom”. All participating teams have to build their cars from scratch and seek sponsorship and donations to fund the project. So they also gain valuable experience in the areas of management and teamwork.

    2022 Formula Bharat winners

    The online event saw participation from 33 combustion and 12 electric teams, while the on-site event saw participation from 15 combustion and 13 electric teams. All the static events like Business Plan, Cost and Manufacturing, and Engineering Design took place entirely online. These were followed by dynamic events, including skidpad, acceleration, endurance tests and autocross at the track.

    After four days at the Kari Motor Speedway, the team from Gujarat Technological University – GTU Motorsports – took home the trophy in the combustion category. Team Kratos Racing from Pimpri Chinchwad College of Engineering, meanwhile, were crowned winners in the electric category.

    2023 Formula Bharat registration details

    Pre-registration for next year’s competition opens on May 9, and those interested can head here for all the Formula Bharat registration guidelines.

    There’s also the 2022 FSEV Concept Challenge coming up. This competition will be held entirely online and participants will have to conceptualise and design a Formula Student Electric Vehicle Powertrain Package, which meets the Formula Bharat 2023 technical guidelines.

    Also see:

    Peru Irazola Arbulu wins 2022 Red Bull Ace of Dirt

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    The Mahindra XUV 300 facelift will be called the XUV 3XO. Should more brands rename models for facelifts?

    Yes, it could give new life to a slow-selling car



    Yes, but only if there are significant changes



    No, it's confusing and dilutes the brand name



    No difference, the product speaks for itself



    Total Votes : 1142
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe