Sherco TVS announces rider line-up for 2019 Merzouga Rally

    Michael Metge, Aravind KP and Abdul Wahid Tanveer will participate in the 2019 Merzouga Rally for the Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team.

    Published On Mar 27, 2019 05:40:00 PM


    Sherco TVS announces rider line-up for 2019 Merzouga Rally

    Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team has confirmed that it will field three riders for the 2019 Merzouga Rally that is slated to take place from March 31 to April 5, 2019, in Erfoud, Morocco. The team’s line-up will include French rider Michael Metge and Indian riders Aravind KP and Abdul Wahid Tanveer.

    Metge and Aravind KP also participated in the 2019 Dakar Rally for Sherco TVS and will be competing in the 450cc category of the Merzouga Rally. Earlier this year, Aravind managed to conquer the Dakar Rally on his third attempt, securing 37th place overall to become the only Indian rider to complete the rally this year. Metge, meanwhile, finished 25th overall.

    Abdul Wahid Tanveer will be competing in the Enduro category of the Merzouga Rally. He enjoyed some successful outings last year – winning the Enduro category in the 2018 PanAfrica Rally, bagging 2nd place in the Enduro category of the 2018 Rally of Morocco and even claiming 3rd place in the Moto category of the 2018 India Baja.

    “The Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team had a good racing season last year and our Indian riders proved their mettle with some outstanding performances in the International Rally circuit. We are all set to step-in to a new race season and hope to deliver some strong performances in the coming year,” said B Selvaraj, team manager, TVS Racing.

    “Merzouga Rally sets the stage for the future races as it offers an ideal platform to evaluate the physical and technical strengths of the team. The three-member team will look to dominate the Rally and ensure strong results.”

    This will be the TVS Rally Factory Team’s third go at the Merzouga Rally. This year’s event will take place across five days, with participants having to tackle challenging sand sections in addition to the soaring temperatures of the Moroccan desert.

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    Would you buy an electric Royal Enfield?

    Yes, electric mobility is here to stay and we must adapt



    No, it's not a proper Royal Enfield without the sound and feel



    Total Votes : 1412
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe