Shahan Ali Mohsin clinches 2019 JK Tyre National Karting Championship title

    Mohammed Ryan and Ishaan Madesh took overall victory in the Junior Max and Micro Max categories, respectively.

    Published On Aug 26, 2019 05:57:00 PM


    15-year-old Shahan Ali Mohsin completed a commanding run in the 2019 season of the JK Tyre FMSCI National Karting Championship, taking overall victory in the Senior Max category at the championship’s final round in Bengaluru. With this, Mohsin has become the youngest driver to win the title in the Senior Max category of the championship and he will go on to represent India at the Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Finals in Italy from October 19-26, 2019. In Italy, he will compete against 350 drivers from 60 different countries.

    With six race wins under his belt, Mohsin already held a sizable lead heading into the final round. He picked up a further 52 points with 2nd and 3rd place finishes in the last two races, taking his overall tally up to 435 points, which handed him a comfortable overall victory. Mohsin’s JK Tyre National Karting Championship win adds yet another feather to his cap – he’s won multiple national karting championships in the past and he’s also a former Asia Max Karting champion.

    In a statement posted on his social media, Mohsin said: “Another box ticked for me after a title-winning weekend in JK Tyre National Karting Championship in the Senior category. It hasn't been easy juggling between karting and single-seaters but I wanted to complete what I started in karting with championship wins in each category.”

    Mohsin’s MSport team-mate Amir Sayed stood 2nd overall in the category with 398 points, while Peregrine Racing’s Manav Sharma finished 3rd overall with 339 points. MSport’s Vishnu Prasad enjoyed a dominant final round, winning both the races, but since he only entered the championship from Round 3, he had to settle for 4th place overall.

    MSport also enjoyed success in the Junior Max category with Mohammed Ryan beating Peregrine Racing’s Rohaan Madesh by just 10 points to take overall victory. Abhay M finished a further six points behind Madesh to slot into 3rd place overall for Birel Art.

    Meanwhile, Peregrine Racing’s Ishaan Madesh continued his unbeaten run in the Micro Max category in the final two races as well. He collected maximum points at every single round after winning all 10 races. His team-mate Jagrat Detroja finished 2nd overall after also enjoying a strong season that saw him finish on the podium in every race. Birel Art’s Anshul Sai Shivakumar finished 3rd overall.

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    Would you buy a CNG bike?

    Yes, the running costs are too good to ignore.



    No, CNG comes with too many compromises.



    EVs are more affordable to run and greener



    Total Votes : 1188
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe