Mahindra Racing announces Formula E Championship entry

    Mahindra Racing becomes the eighth and the sole Indian team in the Formula E championship.

    Published On Nov 28, 2013 10:37:00 PM


    Mahindra Racing has announced that it will join the inaugural FIA Formula E Championship which kicks off in September 2014. With this, Mahindra Racing becomes the eighth and the sole Indian team from 10 teams that will take part in the new zero emission series. Autocar India had first revealed Mahindra Racing's plan about entering the Formula E Championship way back in September 2013. 

    The championship will have a total of 10 races globally,  starting with the first one to be held at Beijing. Other races will be held in Brazil, Berlin, Miami and Monte Carlo which will share the same track as the one used for Formula One Grand Prix.

    Commenting on Mahindra Racing’s entry into Formula E, Anand Mahindra, chairman and MD of the Mahindra Group, said, “With advanced operations and expertise in electronics, IT, automotive technologies and manufacturing, we are already seeing a fusion of this technology into our electric vehicle operations. Racing will further accelerate that trend while Formula E is set to raise awareness globally about the benefits of electric vehicles.”

    While Chetan Maini, CEO, Mahindra-Reva Electric Vehicles, will provide guidance to the Mahindra Racing Formula E team, the team will be led by Dilbagh Gill who has been appointed team principal. According to Mahindra Racing, the driver selection process is underway.

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.


    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now
    Search By Car Price
    Poll of the month

    Which was your favourite Car, SUV at Auto Expo 2023

    Maruti Suzuki Jimny



    Maruti Suzuki Fronx



    Maruti Suzuki eVX concept



    Tata Harrier EV



    Tata Sierra



    Hyundai Ioniq 5



    Hyundai Ioniq 6



    Kia EV9 concept






    Toyota Land Cruiser 300



    Total Votes : 3908
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe