JK National Racing Championship 2016: Round 1, Day 2
Podium finishers Above- LGB4 racers(Left), Touring car championship(Right); Below- JK Euro 16 racers.

JK National Racing Championship 2016: Round 1, Day 2

1st Aug 2016 3:24 am

Euro JK 16: Nayan Chaterjee wins races 3 and 4; Formula LGB4: Ashwin Sundar and Rohit Khanna win race 2 and 3; ITC: Ashish Ramaswami wins Round 1

With the completion of Round 1 of the 2016 JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship, three more rounds remain for this year. Of these, Round 2, to be held at the Kari Speed way again, while Round 3 and 4 will be held at the Buddh International Circuit, Noida.
Here’s what Day 2 of Round 1 looked like.  

Euro JK 16
Besides a 20hp bump in the outputs of these open-wheel race-cars, this year also saw the introduction of paddle-shifters and a new rear wing.
Debutant Ricky Donison would definitely be disappointed with his weekend at Kari, having had to surrender three of his victories due to jump-starts, one of them being on Sunday. jump-started three of his races.

On the other hand, Nayan Chaterjee emerged victorious in both the races on Sunday, bagging the first by default due to Donison’s jump-start, and the second in the reverse grid race, with a strong performance. He recorded the fastest three laps in the race to leave Kush Maini and Ricky Donison desperately trying to catch him.

Formula LGB4
Race 2 of the LGB4 series saw a tough battle between Ashwin Sundar of Dark Don Racing and Vishnu Prasad from Meco racing, both racers fighting it out till the very last 15th lap. However, it was Chennai lad Ashwin who clinched victory.

The reverse-gridded Race 3 too saw Ashwin fighting it out for top-spot, but with Rohit Khanna. This time though, Khanna came out on top. The race witnessed Sudarshan Rao flip his car twice during the last lap at C1, with Sundar barely missing him. Rao, however, came away unscathed from the accident.

Indian Touring Cars
Ashish Ramaswamy of Red Rooster Performance, won rather easily in the Gentleman’s Cup category to make it a grand double for himself, having also won the opening race on Saturday.
C Rajaram, who finished second on Saturday, couldn’t finish the race and yielded the second position to Vidyaprakash Damodaran, who finished third on Saturday.

Day 2 Race Results:

Euro JK 16 (15 laps each)
Race 3:
1. Nayan Chatterjee
2. Krishnaraaj Mahadik
3. Ricky Donison`

Race 4:
1. Nayan Chatterjee
2. Kush Maini
3. Ricky Donison

LGB4 (15 laps each)
Race 2:
1. Ashwin Sundar
2. Vishnu Prasad
3. Sudarshana Rao Karwal

Race 3:
1. Rohit Khanna
2. Saran Tmars
3. Diljith TS

Gentlemen’s Cup- Indian Touring Cars- 10-laps
1) Ashish Ramaswamy
2) Vidyaprakash Damodaran
3) Rajkumar G D

Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.