2020 INMRC: TVS Racing’s KY Ahamed crowned champion

    TVS Racing took home both the major titles in the 2020 Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship.

    Published On Dec 22, 2020 11:19:00 AM


    2020 INMRC: TVS Racing’s KY Ahamed crowned champion

    The MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship (INMRC) wrapped up its condensed two-round 2020 edition over the weekend at the Madras Motor Race Track. After overcoming some controversy, it is TVS Racing’s KY Ahamed who took home the title in the premier Pro-Stock 301-400cc category. Jagan Kumar clinched his ninth national title after winning the Pro-Stock 165cc championship.

    • TVS wins Pro-Stock 301-400cc and 165cc titles
    • Rajini Krishnan wins two races
    • Mohan Babu wins Novice Stock 165cc title

    You can head here to catch up on all the action from Round 1 of the 2020 INMRC.

    INMRC Pro-Stock

    KY Ahamed won the first race of the final round and followed that up with another podium finish (3rd place) in Race 3. With two wins this season, his tally of 121 points was enough for him to win the Pro-Stock 301-400cc title.

    However, a protest was lodged against him, questioning the legality of the radiator used in his motorcycle. Following a scrutiny, race direction turned down the protest, declaring the radiator legal and that the modification was in line with the prescribed technical regulations. With this, Ahamed beat out closest title rival Anish Damodar Shetty by five points to win the championship.

    Superbike racer and multiple national championship winner Rajini Krishnan starred in the final round; he finished on the podium in all four races, winning two of them.

    TVS Racing also took home the title in the Pro-Stock 165cc class, with Jagan Kumar emerging triumphant. On the back of two consecutive wins over the weekend, he led teammate Ahamed (who also competed in the Pro-Stock 165cc class) by four points. A controlled and calculated run in the final race saw him finish 4th, enough for him to win the championship by a single point.

    “I decided to take it easy and go for points instead. I am delighted to win the title after missing it last year,” said Kumar who had won the 165cc title seven times in a row from 2012-18.

    Eneos Honda Erula Racing’s Mathana Kumar finished third overall after securing his first win of the season over the weekend.

    Stock 165cc

    Privateer Mohan Babu secured the Novice Stock 165cc title in what is just his second season racing at the national level. He did just enough after main rival Ullas Santrupt (RACR Castrol Power Racing) didn’t score any points in the last two races, thus squandering a three-point advantage.

    Sparks Racing’s Ann Jennifer won the Girls Stock 165cc title for a second time in dominant fashion – she won all four races in the championship.

    TVS One-Make Championship

    Abhishek Vasudev and Navaneeth Kumar won the titles in the Novice and Open categories of the TVS One One-Make Championship. Meanwhile, Jagruti Kiran Penkar won in the Girls category.

    Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup

    The final race saw Sarthak Chavan pull off an impeccable recovery ride to take victory, despite starting from last on the grid. With this, he was also declared the overall winner of the Honda India Talent Cup (NSF250R, Open).

    And lastly, there was the Novice CBR 150 category, which essentially acts as a feeder series for those looking to compete in the Honda India Talent Cup NSF250R. Shyam Sundar finished on the podium in both races, including winning Race 2, to take home the title.

    2020 INMRC results

    Pro-Stock 301-400cc – Rider: KY Ahamed (Chennai, TVS Racing). Team: TVS Racing. Manufacturer: TVS.

    Pro-Stock 165cc Open – Rider: Jagan Kumar (Chennai, TVS Racing). Team: TVS Racing. Manufacturer: TVS.

    Novice (Stock 165cc) – Rider: Mohan Babu (Chennai, Privateer). Team: Sparks Racing. Manufacturer: Yamaha

    Girls (Stock 165cc) – Rider: Anne Jennifer (Chennai, Sparks Racing). Team: Gusto Racing. Manufacturer: Yamaha.

    Also see:

    2020 JK NRC, Round 1: Ashwin Datta reigns supreme in LGB Formula 4

    2020 INRC: Gaurav Gill scores back-to-back wins at Itanagar

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    At Rs 1.85 lakh, the Bajaj Pulsar NS400Z is the most affordable 40hp bike in India. Would you pick it over similarly priced bikes with less power and features?

    Yes, 40hp at this price is unheard of!



    No, it's a decade-old bike in a revamped suit.



    Great value but doesn't look unique enough.



    Total Votes : 1322
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe