2016 Indian rally season announced

2016 Indian rally season announced

11th Jul 2016 8:27 pm

MRF Tyres, Mahindra Adventure, Polaris and Pincon will be the key sponsors for the season.

Federation of Motorsport Clubs of India (FMSCI) has announced the 2016 Indian Rally Championship season, which will kick off on July 23rd in Coimbatore. A new promoter has been announced as well, with Kolkata-based RRPM (Ramakrishna Race Performance Management) running the show.

RRPM has managed to rope MRF Tyres, Mahindra Adventure, Polaris and Pincon as key sponsors for the season. MRF will be the title sponsor of the INRC, the IRC and the INTSDRC (TSD) for 2016 season while Mahindra Adventure and Polaris will be the associate sponsors along with Kolkata-based Pincon Group.

The 2016 calendar for the INRC/IRC and the INTSDRC has also been announced, beginning with Round 1 of the INRC/IRC in Coimbatore in July and ending with the national finals of the INTSDRC in December.

2016 will also see the introduction of the Shakedown, which will be a pre-event procedure conducted to provide some pre-rally practice & testing to all the competitors. Top seeded drivers will also be taking celebrities and media representatives for taxi rides.

Both gravel and tarmac events will be included, with a round for Gurgaon also on the calendar.

President of the FMSCI, Mr. Zayn Khan said “I am very happy that RRPM is promoting the INRC and IRC this season. Rallying has suffered from a lack of full-fledged support from sponsors and promoters for a few years and now I think I can safely say that it seems behind us. Rallying equates with probably the purest form of motorsport and a layman identifies with the vehicles competing. Therefore I am very happy that this discipline will now get the required impetus and grow from strength to strength on a yearly basis.”


DATE                                     LOCATION

24th July                              Coimbatore
27th August                        Nashik
18th September               Gurgaon
26th November                Bengaluru
5th December                   Chikmagalur


DATE                                    LOCATION

14th August                       Jaipur
21st August                       Haldia
4th September                 Durgapur
11th September              Bengaluru
25th September              Hubli
13th November               Nashik
20th November               Goa

Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.