2012 INRC calendar announced

2012 INRC calendar announced

28th Apr 2012 4:00 pm

The six-round championship will kick off in Coimbatore on 28th July.

After announcing a slew of changes aimed at injecting new life into Indian rallying, including a category for AWD cars and foreign drivers, the FMSCI has finally revealed the calendar for the 2012 INRC/IRC season.

The season will kick off in Coimbatore on 28th July, instead of June as envisioned earlier, with the season finale in Nashik on 22nd Decemeber.

The championship will visit Bangalore and Chikmagalur apart from another two venues which are yet to be decided.

Kolkata-based Ramkrishna Race Performance Management (RRPM) run by former rallyist Arindam Ghosh, father of MRF driver Amitrajit Ghosh, is likely to be confirmed as the new promoter for the championship, along with a new title sponsor.

It is thus likely that the championship will feature a round in east India with Duragapur, Kolkata or Bhubaneshwar being likely venues.

2012 Indian National Rally Championship calendar

Round 1 Rally of Coimbatore  July 28-29
Round 2 K1000 Bangalore Sep 1-2
Round 3 TBA Sep 21-22
Round 4 TBA November 3-4
Round 5 Coffee Day Chikmaglur November 24-25
Round 6 Nashik Rally December 22-23

Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.