Tio Ellinas is 2013 MRF Challenge champion

Tio Ellinas is 2013 MRF Challenge champion

17th Feb 2014 12:59 am

Cook was slapped with a 30-second penalty for pushing Ellinas off the track.

Cyprus driver Tio Ellinas is the MRF Challenge 2013 Champion as the nail-biting season came to an end here at the MMRT track on Sunday. Going in to the crunch race, nothing separated the title contenders Ellinas and Rupert Svendsen-Cook in terms of points and British driver Cook finished the 15-lap race ahead of Ellinas.

Cook's party was however shortlived as stewards declared Ellinas as the provisional champion after he protested over Cook forcing him off the track on Lap 1 during the final race.  

Cook was slapped with a 30-second penalty for pushing Ellinas off the track and as a result of that he was demoted to 12th spot in the race classification. He has also subsequently appealed against the stewards' decision. The shake-up elevated Belgian Sam Dejonghe to the top step of the podium with Ellinas and Dylan Young taking second and third spots respectively.

Earlier in the day, Indian F1 driver Narain Karthikeyan enthralled the packed Sunday crowd as he won the Race 1 of the day with Sam Dejonghe winning Race 2. In the MRF 1600 National Racing Championship category Tarun Reddy passed Vikash Anand on the last lap to take his second win of the weekend with Advait Deodhar in third place.

MRF Challenge Round 4 results:

Race 1

1 Narain Karthikeyan 00:26:47.015
2 Tio Ellinas CYPRUS 00:26:48.706
3 Rupert Svendsen-Cook 00:26:49.071

Race 2

1 Sam Dejonghe 00:26:57.825
2 Tio Ellinas 00:27:09.499
3 Dylan Young 00:27:12.207

MRF F1600 National Championship

Race 1

1. Tarun Reddy 00:18:39.170
2. Vikash Anand 00:18:39.626
3. Advait Deodhar 00:18:47.370

Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.