Spanish GP: Lewis Hamilton denies Nico Rosberg pole

    Hamilton was outpaced by Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg during the first two segments of qualifying, but delivered when it counted in Q3.

    Published On May 10, 2014 11:53:00 PM


    Spanish GP: Lewis Hamilton denies Nico Rosberg pole

    Lewis Hamilton claimed his fourth pole position of the 2014 Formula 1 season by topping qualifying for the Spanish Grand Prix.

    Hamilton was outpaced by Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg during the first two segments of qualifying, but delivered when it counted in Q3 to take pole by 0.168 seconds in a tense final-lap battle.

    With Mercedes continuing to dominate, the rest were battling for third and it was Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo who emerged as best of the rest, albeit a second off Hamilton.

    Valtteri Bottas qualified fourth for Williams, comfortably ahead of Romain Grosjean, who continued the recent upward trend for the twin-tusk Lotus E22 with a season's best fifth place.

    The two Ferraris lapped at a similar pace, ending up sixth and seventh with Kimi Raikkonen shading team-mate Fernando Alonso.

    Jenson Button was eighth ahead of Felipe Massa, the latter looking set for a stronger grid position but for a disappointing Q3 lap.

    Sebastian Vettel qualified 10th after being unable to complete a lap during Q3 thanks to his Red Bull grinding to a halt early in his run, prompting a brief red flag stoppage.

    Nico Hulkenberg was fastest of the drivers to fail to make the top 10 shootout. He was bumped out of the Q3 slots by Bottas late on, albeit less than a tenth slower than home hero Alonso, who just scraped through.

    The second Force India of Sergio Perez was 13th ahead of Daniil Kvyat and Esteban Gutierrez.

    Behind them, Kevin Magnussen was classified 15th despite not running in Q2 with an engine problem striking his McLaren-Mercedes.

    Jean-Eric Vergne was 16th after also not running, but he will start from the back of the grid thanks to a 10-place grid penalty for shedding a wheel during Friday afternoon practice.

    Adrian Sutil, who complained about a problem with his Sauber over the radio, was the fastest of those who failed to escape Q1.

    He was bumped down to 17th in the dying seconds of the first segment of qualifying by Button, who put on the quicker medium Pirelli in order to ensure he was not knocked out.

    Max Chilton was 18th, outqualifying Marussia team-mate Jules Bianchi by six tenths of a second, with Marcus Ericsson doing a good job in the lead Caterham to end up just ahead of Kamui Kobayashi.

    Pastor Maldonado will start last after failing to complete a flying lap before crashing.

    He lost the rear end of his Lotus at the exit of Turn 3 after drifting wide on his first flying lap in Q1, spinning into the inside wall and bringing out the red flag for seven minutes.

    Pos  Driver                Team/Car              Time       Gap
     1.  Lewis Hamilton        Mercedes              1m25.232s
     2.  Nico Rosberg          Mercedes              1m25.400s  +0.168s
     3.  Daniel Ricciardo      Red Bull-Renault      1m26.285s  +1.053s
     4.  Valtteri Bottas       Williams-Mercedes     1m26.632s  +1.400s
     5.  Romain Grosjean       Lotus-Renault         1m26.960s  +1.728s
     6.  Kimi Raikkonen        Ferrari               1m27.104s  +1.872s
     7.  Fernando Alonso       Ferrari               1m27.140s  +1.908s
     8.  Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes      1m27.335s  +2.103s
     9.  Felipe Massa          Williams-Mercedes     1m27.402s  +2.170s
    10.  Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault                 
                               Q3 cut-off time:      1m27.602s  **
    11.  Nico Hulkenberg       Force India-Mercedes  1m27.685s  +1.597s
    12.  Sergio Perez          Force India-Mercedes  1m28.002s  +1.914s
    13.  Daniil Kvyat          Toro Rosso-Renault    1m28.039s  +1.951s
    14.  Esteban Gutierrez     Sauber-Ferrari        1m28.280s  +2.192s
    15.  Kevin Magnussen       McLaren-Mercedes
    16.  Jean-Eric Vergne      Toro Rosso-Renault
                               Q2 cut-off time:      1m28.472s  *
    17.  Adrian Sutil          Sauber-Ferrari        1m28.563s  +1.799s
    18.  Max Chilton           Marussia-Ferrari      1m29.586s  +2.822s
    19.  Jules Bianchi         Marussia-Ferrari      1m30.177s  +3.413s
    20.  Marcus Ericsson       Caterham-Renault      1m30.312s  +3.548s
    21.  Kamui Kobayashi       Caterham-Renault      1m30.375s  +3.611s
    22.  Pastor Maldonado      Lotus-Renault
         107 per cent time:    1m32.837s
    * Gap to fastest in Q1
    ** Gap to fastest in Q2

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1243
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe