Rossi wins at epic Assen GP from Marquez

    The duo were a class apart throughout an incredible grand prix, leaving the rest of the field behind.

    Published On Jun 27, 2015 06:16:00 PM


    Rossi wins at epic Assen GP from Marquez

    Valentino Rossi defeated Marc Marquez in a final-lap thriller to win the Dutch TT at Assen and stretch his MotoGP championship lead.

    The duo were a class apart throughout an incredible grand prix, leaving the rest of the field - headed by Rossi's Yamaha team-mate and title rival Jorge Lorenzo - behind.

    Rossi led the majority of the race but could never escape from Marquez's Honda.

    Marquez calmly stalked his rival until slipping ahead into the first corner with seven laps to go.

    Although Marquez was using a harder tyre than the Italian, Rossi still had plenty of grip left for the final shootout and clung to Marquez's tail even after being passed.

    He squeezed back into the lead with two laps left, and resisted Marquez's immediate attempt to repass at the next corner.

    Rossi then stretched a 0.6-second advantage - his biggest of the ultra-close race - only for Marquez to come back at him with a storming final lap.

    Into the chicane for the last time, Marquez flung his Honda to the inside of the Yamaha.

    They made light contact, with Rossi shooting across the gravel on the inside of the corner - with his front wheel briefly in the air - and accelerating back on track still ahead.

     Marquez and Rossi at odds over last-lap clash

    With Marquez losing a little momentum, Rossi crossed the line 1.2s clear to secure his third win of 2015 and his first since the Termas de Rio Hondo race in April.

    Lorenzo swiftly wiped out the disadvantage of his poor qualifying performance and came through from eighth to third, but could not keep pace with Rossi and Marquez, ending his winning streak at four victories.

    He finished nearly 15s off the lead and is now 10 points behind Rossi in the championship again.

    Andrea Iannone was fourth for Ducati, escaping from a huge battle for the rest of the top 10 places.

    Pol Espargaro eventually won that, just ahead of Cal Crutchlow, Bradley Smith and Dani Pedrosa, who was riding with a sore hand after his warm-up crash.

    Front row starter Aleix Espargaro held his ground off the line this time but fell down the order as the race progressed. The Suzukis completed the top 10, with Espargaro ahead of Maverick Vinales.

    Andrea Dovizioso spent a while in fifth before being shuffled back to 12th behind Danilo Petrucci.

    Scott Redding's tough weekend finished with a quiet 13th.

    The worst of several midfield crashes occurred on lap one, when Jack Miller and Hector Barbera tangled at the chicane. While Miller walked away, Barbera was taken from the scene on a stretcher, but conscious and sitting up.

    RESULTS - 26 LAPS:

    1Valentino RossiYamahaYamaha40m54.037s
    2Marc MarquezHondaHonda1.242s
    3Jorge LorenzoYamahaYamaha14.576s
    4Andrea IannoneDucatiDucati19.109s
    5Pol EspargaroTech 3Yamaha24.268s
    6Cal CrutchlowLCRHonda24.373s
    7Bradley SmithTech 3Yamaha24.442s
    8Daniel PedrosaHondaHonda24.656s
    9Aleix EspargaroSuzukiSuzuki26.725s
    10Maverick VinalesSuzukiSuzuki27.238s
    11Danilo PetrucciPramac RacingDucati29.038s
    12Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati29.418s
    13Scott ReddingMarc VDSHonda46.663s
    14Yonny HernandezPramac RacingDucati49.305s
    15Loris BazForward RacingYamaha Forward52.396s
    16Nicky HaydenAsparHonda56.005s
    17Alvaro BautistaAprilia GresiniAprilia59.857s
    18Mike Di MeglioAvintia RacingDucati1m14.513s
    19Marco MelandriAprilia GresiniAprilia1 Lap
    -Alex de AngelisIodaRacing ProjectART/ApriliaRetirement
    -Eugene LavertyAsparHondaRetirement
    -Stefan BradlForward RacingYamaha ForwardRetirement
    -Jack MillerLCRHondaRetirement
    -Hector BarberaAvintia RacingDucatiRetirement


    1Valentino Rossi163
    2Jorge Lorenzo153
    3Andrea Iannone107
    4Marc Marquez89
    5Andrea Dovizioso87
    6Bradley Smith77
    7Cal Crutchlow57
    8Pol Espargaro56
    9Maverick Vinales52
    10Daniel Pedrosa47
    11Danilo Petrucci44
    12Aleix Espargaro38
    13Scott Redding30
    14Yonny Hernandez28
    15Hector Barbera16
    16Loris Baz14
    17Alvaro Bautista11
    18Jack Miller11
    19Stefan Bradl9
    20Michele Pirro8
    21Nicky Hayden8
    22Eugene Laverty7
    23Hiroshi Aoyama5
    24Mike Di Meglio2
    25Alex de Angelis1


    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1134
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe