Raunaq Singh wins big at 2019 Indian National Autocross

    All the winners across the different classes battle it out with qualifiers throughout the country in the 2019 Indian National Autocross finals.

    Published On Oct 25, 2019 06:04:00 PM


    The 2019 PARX IARC (Indian Automotive Racing Club) Indian National Autocross championship made its way to the Raymond Drift Track on the outskirts of Mumbai to host its regional round for the west zone. With an entry into the finals at stake, the round saw some intense competition and the difficulty level was only amped up by the arrival of some unexpected rain.

    For those unfamiliar with the Autocross format, participants have to maneuver their way through a specially designed dirt track. Rather than focusing on all-out speed, the format is a true test of driving skill and car control.

    The round itself comprised of nine different classes based on the different drivers’ and cars’ criteria, and Raunaq Singh ended up winning big. At the end of the round, he walked away with three trophies after setting the fastest time in three classes – Stock (2WD, 1651cc and above), Modified (2WD, 1651 cc and above) and Unrestricted (2WD, upto 1650 cc).

    Aftaab Bunglowala also impressed, setting the fastest times in the Stock (2WD, upto 1650cc) and Modified (2WD, upto 1400cc) classes. Other winners included Swajit Acharekar in the Modified (2WD, 1401-1650cc) class, Kejas Shah in the Unrestricted (2WD, 1651cc and above) class and Umesh Rane in the Unrestricted (2WD, SUVs Open) class.

    Jhanvi Bhavsar ended up taking top honours in the Ladies stock class (open), while Kaustubh Pitale took home the Tuner’s trophy in the same class on behalf of Team Flying Pistons. The team also won the Tuner’s trophy in the Unrestricted (2WD, 1651cc and above) class.

    Sparky’s Garage and Shanky Joseph, both bagged multiple Tuner’s trophies across various classes, while N1 Racing won in the Modified (2WD, 1401-1650cc) class and Sudesh Karle won in the Unrestricted (4WD, SUVs Open) class.

    All the winners across the different classes now progress further in the Indian National Autocross championship and will battle it out with qualifiers from across the country in the finals that will be held towards the end of the year.

    IMAGE SOURCE: 3motoheads

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    The Mahindra XUV 300 facelift will be called the XUV 3XO. Should more brands rename models for facelifts?

    Yes, it could give new life to a slow-selling car



    Yes, but only if there are significant changes



    No, it's confusing and dilutes the brand name



    No difference, the product speaks for itself



    Total Votes : 853
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe