Murthy and Kumar seal National TSD title

    The two Bangaloreans, piloting a Tata Indica Vista, sealed the title with two rounds still to go.

    Published On Nov 17, 2014 06:28:00 PM


    Murthy and Kumar seal National TSD title

    Chidananda Murthy and BS Sujith Kumar, driving for Team Tata Motors’ clinched the 2014 Indian National TSD Rally Championship title after winning the Monsoon Drive 3, round 7 of the championship held at Kolkata. 

    The two Bangaloreans, piloting a Tata Indica

    The duo managed to win five rounds enroute the championship tile in 2014, including Jaipur, Bangalore, Coimbatore, Goa and Kolkata, which ensured they finished ahead of another Tata Motors' pairing Saurav Chatterjee and Ashoke Kumar Basu, who has 125 points.

    In Kolkata, the duo racked up a total time penalty of two minutes and six seconds to win the event ahead of Chatterjee and Basu. The third Team Tata Motors entry of Rajiv Sarkar and Moulinath Ghosh finished third, making it another 1-2-3 for Team Tata Motors in the Pro Stock category.

     “It feels great to have won three titles in a row. This is a title we will always cherish due to all the hard work and effort we have put in all through the year in the TSD Championship,” said Chidananda Murthy.

     Sujith Kumar said: “Celebration time has come a little early for us and this title is very close to our heart because it is the third in a row. Nevertheless, we will be giving it our best in the two remaining rounds.”

    Team Tata Motors’ Sachin Singh and Prakash M clinched second place in the Pro Expert category here and their teammates MD Ganesh Moorthy-T Nagarajan finished third. Singh and Prakash have 78 points, while Moorthy and Nagarajan have 92 points.

    What is TSD rallying?

    About TSD Rally:

    TSD rallying (Time Speed Distance) is a form of motor sports usually conducted on public roads as well as off-road and dirt sections. The objective of these rallies is to maintain precise times and precise speeds on various segments of a predefined route mentioned in a road book. Each team usually consists of a driver and navigator. Teams usually start a TSD rally at fixed intervals of a minute or two.

    At the time of flag off, each team is given a road book (tulip), which guides the navigator with the route and average speed to be maintained. Along the route there are several Time Control zones, the positions of which would be unknown to the teams. The marshals will note the timing at which the team arrives at the TCs. The difference between a team's actual times and the ideal times determine their penalties. (Late and early arrival both attracts penalties). The team with the lowest number of penalty points wins.

    Teams use several instruments like different types of navigational devices such as Terratrip, extra speedometers, GPS and rally computers for achieving in their ideal speed and time.

    Monsoon Drive 3
    Round 7, Indian National TSD Rally Championship


    Pro Stock:

    1. Chidananda Murthy-BS Sujith Kumar 0:02:06 minutes
    2. Saurav Chatterjee-Ashoke Kumar Basu 0:02:32 minutes
    3. Rajiv Sarkar-Moulinath Ghosh 0:17:00 minutes

    Pro Expert:

    1. KP Karthik Maruti-Sankar Anand 0:00:35 seconds
    2. Sachin Singh-Prakash M 0:00:41 seconds
    3. MD Ganesh Moorthy-T Nagarajan 0:00:49 seconds

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    At Rs 1.85 lakh, the Bajaj Pulsar NS400Z is the most affordable 40hp bike in India. Would you pick it over similarly priced bikes with less power and features?

    Yes, 40hp at this price is unheard of!



    No, it's a decade-old bike in a revamped suit.



    Great value but doesn't look unique enough.



    Total Votes : 1047
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe