MotoGP: Lorenzo dominates at Mugello, Marquez crashes

MotoGP: Lorenzo dominates at Mugello, Marquez crashes

1st Jun 2015 11:11 am

The Yamaha rider took the lead away from Andrea Dovizioso on the first lap, as poleman Andrea Iannone was relegated to third.

Jorge Lorenzo scored his third consecutive MotoGP victory with a dominant performance at Mugello.

The Yamaha rider took the lead away from Andrea Dovizioso on the first lap, as poleman Andrea Iannone was relegated to third.

After the worst qualifying result of his career, Marc Marquez charged from 13th on the grid to fourth by the end of the opening tour, before making quick work of the Ducatis at San Donato on successive laps.

Lorenzo then had Marquez on his tail but was able to pull away from his fellow Spaniard and went on to win by 5.5 seconds, although his advantage had been more than 8s at one stage.

Marquez battled with the two Ducatis for most of the race, and was fighting to reclaim second from Iannone when he crashed out with five laps to go.

Iannone held on to second place to score the best result of his MotoGP career, but any hopes of a double podium for Ducati at home were lost when Dovizioso pitted with a bike issue after slipping down the order.

Valentino Rossi instead claimed a popular podium finish in third, fighting back after a lacklustre start had left him 10th at the end of lap one. He stays in the championship lead, six points ahead of Lorenzo.

Dani Pedrosa was fourth while Bradley Smith took fifth after fellow Briton Cal Crutchlow suffered a second big crash of the day in the closing stages. The LCR Honda rider had earlier hurt himself in a shunt during warm-up.

Pol Espargaro followed his Tech 3 Yamaha team-mate Smith across the line in sixth ahead of Suzuki's Maverick Vinales and third Ducati rider Michele Pirro.

Danilo Petrucci survived an early clash that caused Aleix Espargaro to crash out to finish ninth in front of Pramac team-mate Yonny Hernandez.


Pos Rider Team Bike Gap
1 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Yamaha 41m39.173s
2 Andrea Iannone Ducati Ducati 5.563s
3 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha 6.661s
4 Daniel Pedrosa Honda Honda 9.978s
5 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 15.284s
6 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha 15.665s
7 Maverick Vinales Suzuki Suzuki 23.805s
8 Michele Pirro Ducati Ducati 29.152s
9 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Racing Ducati 32.008s
10 Yonny Hernandez Pramac Racing Ducati 34.571s
11 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda 38.553s
12 Loris Baz Forward Racing Yamaha Forward 42.158s
13 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing Ducati 44.801s
14 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Gresini Aprilia 50.435s
15 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 53.060s
16 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Racing Ducati 1m15.265s
17 Karel Abraham AB Motoracing Honda 1m15.381s
18 Marco Melandri Aprilia Gresini Aprilia 1m41.840s
- Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda Retirement
- Marc Marquez Honda Honda Retirement
- Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati Retirement
- Stefan Bradl Forward Racing Yamaha Forward Retirement
- Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda Retirement
- Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Suzuki Retirement
- Jack Miller LCR Honda Retirement
- Alex de Angelis IodaRacing Project ART/Aprilia Retirement


Pos Rider Points
1 Valentino Rossi 118
2 Jorge Lorenzo 112
3 Andrea Dovizioso 83
4 Andrea Iannone 81
5 Marc Marquez 69
6 Bradley Smith 57
7 Cal Crutchlow 47
8 Pol Espargaro 45
9 Maverick Vinales 36
10 Danilo Petrucci 32
11 Aleix Espargaro 31
12 Yonny Hernandez 26
13 Daniel Pedrosa 23
14 Scott Redding 18
15 Hector Barbera 16
16 Loris Baz 10
17 Michele Pirro 8
18 Nicky Hayden 8
19 Jack Miller 6
20 Hiroshi Aoyama 5
21 Alvaro Bautista 5
22 Eugene Laverty 3
23 Stefan Bradl 1


Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.