Article Title Image

Lynn takes Macau Grand Prix victory

17th Nov 2013 8:47 pm

The Briton got the jump at the start and crucially managed to hold the lead into the first braking point at Lisboa.

Alex Lynn led from start to finish to claim an emphatic win in the 2013 Macau Grand Prix.

The Briton got the jump at the start and crucially managed to hold the lead into the first braking point at Lisboa. After an early safety car, he built up a cushion of over two seconds over the chasing Antonio Felix da Costa.

Da Costa suddenly slashed the gap to just over a second with four laps remaining, but Lynn kept his focus to take the biggest win of his career in his Theodore Racing-backed Prema Powerteam Dallara-Mercedes.

A sluggish start initially dropped da Costa as low as sixth, but he was up to third by Lisboa, behind Pipo Derani.

Da Costa, the 2012 winner, then passed Derani on the outside into Lisboa after the restart and held second place for the rest of the race in his Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen.

Raffaele Marciello took rather longer to work his way around Derani, managing it on the seventh lap when he sliced up the inside into Lisboa.

The European Formula 3 champion then chased after da Costa, but lost it at R Bend with five laps to go and bashed the barriers on the outside before ricocheting into the inside wall.

Derani was promoted back to third to complete the podium in his Fortec Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes.

Alexander Sims was not too far behind Derani, claiming fourth in his T-Sport Dallara-ThreeBond/Nissan.

He was part of a big fight away from the start with Marciello and Felix Rosenqvist, which the Swede promptly exited when he touched the wall at Mandarin Oriental, failing to complete a lap.

In fifth, Carlin-run Macau GP debutant Jordan King claimed fastest lap on the final tour - it was the quickest lap set by anyone over the entire Macau week.

Will Buller, Stefano Coletti and Carlos Sainz Jr were all in the next battle but a collision forced Coletti out and Buller down the field. Jazeman Jaafar came through to take sixth from the recovering Sainz.

From near the back of the grid, Tom Blomqvist stormed through to eighth, with Nicholas Latifi and Esteban Ocon - who dropped to the back on the opening lap but made a fine recovery - completing the top 10.

The safety car was caused by a big crash at Mandarin Oriental on the opening lap. John Bryant-Meisner hit the barriers, while Sean Gelael spun just behind and Lucas Auer ploughed into him.

Results - 15 laps:

Pos  Driver                  Team/Car                          Time/Gap
 1.  Alex Lynn               Prema Dallara-Merc              37m37.975s
 2.  Antonio Felix da Costa  Carlin Dallara-VW                  +1.173s
 3.  Pipo Derani             Fortec Dallara-Merc                +6.795s
 4.  Alexander Sims          T-Sport Dallara-Nissan             +8.203s
 5.  Jordan King             Carlin Dallara-VW                  +9.573s
 6.  Jazeman Jaafar          Carlin Dallara-VW                 +15.547s
 7.  Carlos Sainz Jr         Carlin Dallara-VW                 +16.976s
 8.  Tom Blomqvist           Fortec Dallara-Merc               +26.160s
 9.  Nicholas Latifi         Carlin Dallara-VW                 +29.288s
10.  Esteban Ocon            Prema Dallara-Merc                +30.914s
11.  Yuhi Sekiguchi          Mucke Dallara-Merc                +32.854s
12.  Yuichi Nakayama         TOM'S Dallara-Toyota              +33.790s
13.  Will Buller             Fortec Dallara-Merc               +34.265s
14.  Harry Tincknell         Carlin Dallara-VW                 +36.532s
15.  Katsumasa Chiyo         B-Max Dallara-Toyota              +36.902s
16.  Antonio Giovinazzi      Double R Dallara-Merc             +37.584s
17.  Nelson Mason            Zeller Dallara-Merc               +39.877s
18.  Dennis van de Laar      Mucke Dallara-Merc              +1m01.651s
19.  Ed Jones                Fortec Dallara-Merc             +1m29.025s


     Lucas Wolf              URD Dallara-Merc                   14 laps
     Kevin Korjus            Double R Dallara-Merc              13 laps
     Raffaele Marciello      Prema Dallara-Merc                  9 laps
     Stefano Coletti         Eurointernational Dallara-Merc      7 laps
     Sun Zheng               Double R Dallara-Merc               6 laps
     Lucas Auer              Prema Dallara-Merc                  0 laps
     John Bryant-Meisner     Fortec Dallara-Merc                 0 laps
     Sean Gelael             Double R Dallara-Merc               0 laps
     Felix Rosenqvist        Mucke Dallara-Merc                  0 laps
Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.