JK Rotax Max: Bafna, Maini and Francis win

    After three rounds (out of five) Bafna is leading the points tally with 109, followed by Dhruv Mohite (100) and Vishnu Prasad (99)

    Published On Sep 08, 2014 10:48:00 AM


    JK Rotax Max: Bafna, Maini and Francis win

    Mumbai’s Ameya Bafna, recovering from a relapse of malaria, emerged as the winner in the Senior Max category and took the championship lead in the process after round three of the JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship 2014, at the Mohite’s Racing Academy Circuit, Kolhapur.

    Starting third on the grid, Rayo Racing’s Bafna took advantage of local hero and leader Chittesh Mandody of Mohite’s Racing suffering a broken tyre rod in the opening lap and jumped into the lead, never relinquishing the top spot throughout the 20-lap race. He was followed home by teammate Nayan Chatterjee and Meco Racing’s Vishnu Prasad.

    After three rounds (out of five) Bafna is leading the points tally with 109, followed by Dhruv Mohite (100) and Vishnu Prasad (99)

    The Junior Max Category saw Kush Maini of Dark Don Racing maintain his consistent form over the heats and pre-final into the final race. He was a comfortable winner over BPC Racing’s Ricky R Donison and Aaroh Ravindra and also extended his lead at the top of the championship points table. Maini now has 115 points, with Ravindra in second with 106 and Akash Gowda in third place with 102.

     "Ricky was putting a lot of pressure on me throughout the race and I kad keep my game up and he gave me very tough competition," said Maini after his win.

    In the first final of the day, Meco Racing’s Paul Francis passed race-long leader Yash Aradhya on the final corner of the last lap to take the top spot on the podium in the Micro Max Category as well as the championship standings.

    Aradahya, who had won both the heats and the pre-final took the early lead in the final and seemed to be cruising to victory before Francis began closing the gap with three laps to go. Locked bumper to bumper in the final lap, Francis squeezed through the gap in the final corner and then raced to victory.

    Also driving a brilliant final race was Shahan Ali Mohsin of Agra, who was unlucky to be served a technical disqualification in the pre-final and had to start from 11th on the grid. Mohsin scythed through the pack, eventually finishing a creditable third. However, the disqualification cost the 10-year old the lead at the top of the championship table.

     Francis with 113 points, is one ahead of teammate Yash Aradhya, while Shahan is in third place with 98.

    "I did not expect to pass Yash as he had driven well in all the earler races, but when I senses him going on the defensive I took my chance and it worked," said an elated Paul Francis.


    Senior Max (20 laps)  

    Ameya Bafna (Rayo Racing) 18:03.688
    Nayan Chatterjee (Rayo Racing) 18:04.401
    Vishnu Prasad (Meco Racing) 18:05.034

    Junior Max (18 laps)

    Kush Maini (Dark Don Racing) 16:02.882
    Ricky R Donison (BPC) 16:04.197
    Aaroh Ravindra (Rayo) 16:18.464

    Micro Max (12 laps)

    Paul Francis (Meco Racing) 11:58.984
    Yash Aradhya (Meco) 11:59.219
    Shahan Ali Mohsin (Meco) 12:02.263

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    The Mahindra XUV 300 facelift will be called the XUV 3XO. Should more brands rename models for facelifts?

    Yes, it could give new life to a slow-selling car



    Yes, but only if there are significant changes



    No, it's confusing and dilutes the brand name



    No difference, the product speaks for itself



    Total Votes : 850
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe