Gaurav Gill wins 2018 Dakshin Dare

    Vishwas S.D takes victory in the bikes category after early leader Yuva Kumar suffered a setback in SS12.

    Published On Sep 09, 2018 11:05:00 AM


    Gaurav Gill wins 2018 Dakshin Dare

    The 10th edition of the Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare concluded in Goa, with Mahindra Adventure’s Gaurav Gill and navigator Musa Sherif clinching victory in dominant fashion. Gill set the pace from the opening stage itself, and went on to win all five legs and majority of the 15 Special Stages with an aggregate time of 6 hours 57.44 mins

    This marks Gill and Sherif’s second Dakshin Dare victory, with the pair having won the rally the last time they participated in it in 2012. “Even after all these years, I retain the same enthusiasm for rallying. I am motivated enough to give 200 per cent each time I drive,” said Gill.

    “We had a very good team and a great strategy that helped us last five tough days.”

    Gill’s Mahindra Adventure team-mate Philippos Matthai (with navigator PVS Moorthy) claimed second place overall, with a time of 7 hours 12 mins. Meanwhile, Team Maruti Suzuki’s Samrat Yadav (with navigator Karan Aukta) clinched the last podium spot. His team-mates, Sandeep Sharma and Suresh Rana, finished fourth and fifth respectively.

    In the bike category, Vishwas S.D claimed the overall title, making the most of early leader Yuva Kumar’s misfortune in the last Special Stage. Yuva, who was leading all the way from the start, saw his bike break down with just 15Km to go and by the time the damage was repaired, he lost 15 minutes. The setback dropped him to third place overall, with Vinay Prasad slotting into second place.




    1.       Gaurav Gill/ Musa Sharif – 6:57:44

    2.       Phillippos Matthai / PVS Moorthy - 7:12:00

    3.       Samrat Yadav / Karan Aukta - 7:21:10



    1.       Vishwas S.D

    2.       Vinay Prasad

    3.       Yuva Kumar

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 968
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe