FMSCI honours 2013 motorsport champions

    Indians who excelled abroad were also recognized with awards including Narain Karthikeyan, Karun Chandhok, Armaan Ebrahim and Gaurav Gill.

    Published On Mar 10, 2014 08:48:00 PM


    FMSCI honours 2013 motorsport champions

    The 2013 champions of Indian Motorsport were honoured by the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI) in Mumbai.

    Long time Scrutineer K Krishnamurthy was presented with Lifetime Achievement award for his contribution to motorsport in India. Vishnu Prasad was voted Most Promising Motorsport Man of the Year in the newly instituted rolling trophy promoted by Raymonds.

    Also present at the event were FIA APRC Champion Gaurav Gill and Indian racer Armaan Ebhrahim. The FMSCI honoured all the their National Champions in the categories of MMSC FMSCI National Racing Championship, FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship, JK Tyre FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship, FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship, FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship and MRF MoGrip FMSCI National Supercross Championship.

    Indians who excelled abroad were also recognized with awards including Narain Karthikeyan, Karun Chandhok, Armaan Ebrahim and Gaurav Gill. India's superbike team Mahi Racing were also recognized for winning the World Supersport constructors title in their first year. Sahara Force Academy Driver Jehan Daruvala, who became the first Indian to win the British KF3 Karting Championship was also given an award by the FMSCI. Two wheeler riders including K Rajni Krishnan, winner at Losail Asia Road Racing Championship, R Deepak and K Jagan were also given awards for their great effort internationally.  

    Newly elected President J Prithviraj started the event off with a rousing speech on the future of motorsports in India. He commented, "It is important that we honour our champions and show them the respect that they deserve. This is the start of better things to come and we are up to the challenge of taking the sport to greater heights. F1 not looking to India is only a small turbulence which will pass soon and India will be back on the map. I would also like to thank Mr. Gautam Singhania for not only being our Chief Guest but also his commitment to drifting. He has committed a Rolling Trophy with a cash prize for Rs. 2 lakhs starting this year for the most promising youngster in our sport."

    The award for Most Promising Motorsport Man of the Year was selected by the council members who had nominees from Racing, Rallying, Karting and Motorcycle Racing. It was a unanimous decision to award Vishnu Prasad, who had won the 2013 JK Tyre-FMSCI National Karting Title in the Senior Max category and the JK Racing India Series title.

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1376
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe