Andretti’s Jake Dennis seals 2023 Formula E title

    Mitch Evans won the London E-Prix, but P2 was enough for Dennis to claim the Formula E title.

    Published On Jul 30, 2023 02:54:00 PM


    Listen to this Article

    Andretti driver Jake Dennis clinched the 2023 Formula E world championship title with one race to spare, after successfully navigating a chaotic London E-Prix.

    Jaguar’s Mitch Evans won the race, which saw two red flag stoppages. But a retirement wiped out Nick Cassidy’s championship hopes, and a P2 finish was enough for Dennis to seal the title.

    1. Dennis seals title after finishing P2
    2. Evans wins London E-Prix, Buemi P3
    3. Mahindra’s Di Grassi goes from P20 to P7

    Cassidy out of running after Buemi collision

    Dennis headed into the race with a 24 points lead over Cassidy, who started from pole. After leading in the early stages, Cassidy dropped a few places after taking his attack mode, and this is where his race started to unravel. While trying to overtake teammate Sebastien Buemi, two made contact, dislodging Cassidy’s front wing.

    After pitting for a new front wing, he was able to rejoin the grid and progressed up to 16th place. But his race couldn’t be salvaged and eventually had to retire.

    Dennis crowned 2023 Formula E champion in London

    With Cassidy out, Evans – who at this point was in the lead - was the only driver who could stop Dennis from sealing the title; but all Dennis had to do was ensured he finished third. In typical Formula E fashion, this was going to be far from easy.

    He had to deal with missing his Attack Mode loop multiple times and two red flag stoppages. In the end, it was a three-lap sprint to the chequered flag. Dennis was up to third place by this time, but he had to hold off Buemi, who had more useable energy than him.

    While Evans crossed the line to take victory ahead of Antonio Felix da Costa, Dennis successfully fended off Buemi to become Formula E’s first British world champion. He’s also handed Andretti their first-ever Formula E title; the American team has been part of the series since its inception.

    Dennis was eventually promoted to second after da Costa was handed a three-minute time penalty for a technical infraction. This also promoted Buemi to the final spot on the podium.

    “I am lost for words, honestly. It means so much to me, the boys standing out there, we have had everything thrown at us, honestly it felt like everyone was racing against us, but Jesus Christ! We have just become world champion! I am so happy for myself, the team, everyone; we deserve this so much,” exclaimed Dennis.

    Mahindra scores points

    After a couple of difficult rounds, Mahindra Racing finished in the points in London. Lucas di Grassi pulled off a spirited recovery drive from P20 to P7, while teammate Roberto Merhi crossed the line in P16.

    2023 Formula E championship standings

    While the Drivers’ Championship has been wrapped up, the Teams’ Championship is very much still up for grabs. With just one more race in London to go, Jaguar TCS Racing is level on points with customer team Envision Racing (with 268 points). Porsche is third overall with 241 points, while Andretti is fourth with 236 points.

    London E-Prix results

    2023 London E-Prix, Round 15 results
    1Mitch EvansJaguar TCS Racing
    2Jake DennisAndretti
    3Sebastien BuemiEnvision Racing
    4Sam BirdJaguar TCS Racing
    5Sergio Sette CamaraNio 333 Racing
    6Edoardo MortaraMaserati
    7Lucas di GrassiMahindra Racing
    8Dan TicktumNio 333 Racing
    9Norman NatoNissan
    10Pascal WehrleinPorsche
    11Jake HughesMcLaren
    12Stoffel VandoorneDS Penske
    13Max GuentherMaserati
    14Andre LottererAndretti
    15Rene RastMcLaren
    16Roberto MerhiMahindra Racing
    17Antonio Felix da CostaPorsche
    NCJean-Eric VergneDS Penske
    NCNick CassidyEnvision Racing
    NCSacha FenestrazNissan
    NCRobin FrijnsABT Cupra
    NCNico MuellerABT Cupra

    Also see:

    Dennis takes Formula E title lead with Rome E-Prix win

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1038
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe