WEC: Audi wins final race, Porsche seals drivers' title

    Loic Duval, Oliver Jarvis and Lucas di Grassi took only the second WEC victory of the season for the German manufacturer.

    Published On Nov 20, 2016 11:46:00 AM


    WEC: Audi wins final race, Porsche seals drivers' title

    Audi bowed out of the prototype ranks with a dominant one-two victory in the Bahrain World Endurance Championship finale in which Porsche wrapped up the drivers' title.

    Loic Duval, Oliver Jarvis and Lucas di Grassi took only the second WEC victory of the season for the German manufacturer to claim runner-up position in the points behind new champions Neel Jani, Marc Lieb and Romain Dumas, whose delayed sixth was more than enough to give them the title.

    Di Grassi crossed the line just over 16 seconds ahead of the sister Audi shared by Marcel Fassler, Andre Lotterer and Benoit Treluyer at the end of a race exclusively fought out by the two R18 e-tron quattros.

    Duval led from pole position until the first round of stops, before Lotterer closed down and passed Jarvis.

    The #7 car remained in front until a slow third stop, when Lotterer handed over to Treluyer, reversed the positions at the front.

    Audi then split its strategy during the only full-course yellow virtual safety car during the the third hour, which put the Treluyer ahead.

    Duval was able catch and pass his fellow Frenchman before a double stint on the tyres in the penultimate hour sealed the win for the #8 car.

    Duval said: "This is the perfect way to close the door and it means a lot to be the last guys to win a race for Audi Sport."

    Di Grassi added: "It was very close with the other car as always, but I think we had the edge in the middle of the race and we called it right with the full-course yellow."

    Third place went to the #1 Porsche 919 Hybrid shared by Mark Webber, Timo Bernhard and Brendon Hartley, which was was never in the hunt and finished nearly 80s down on the winner.

    Jani in the sister car was running ahead of Bernhard after the first round of pitstops when he was hit by the GTE Am KCMG Porsche 911 RSR and sustained a broken left rear wheel.

    The time lost to a slow lap back to the pits and attention to the bodywork left the car three laps down at the finish in sixth place.

    Toyota drivers Kamui Kobayashi, Stephane Sarrazin and Mike Conway, who retained an outside chance of winning the title coming into the Bahrain race, were never in contention for the win or second place they needed to have any chance of becoming champions.

    They ultimately finished fifth behind the sister TS050 HYBRID of Sebastien Buemi, Anthony Davidson and Kazuki Nakajima.

    The Rebellion Racing squad again took a comfortable LMP1 privateer victory with Alexandre Imperatori, Dominik Kraihamer and Matheo Tuscher.

    The G-Drive ORECA-Nissan 05 came from the back of the grid after losing pole position to a technical infraction to take its third consecutive LMP2 class victory.

    The Jota-run G-Drive car shared by Rene Rast, Alex Brundle and Roman Rusinov finished just four seconds up on the RGR Sport Ligier-Nissan JSP2 of Bruno Senna, Filipe Albuquerque and Ricardo Gonzalez after a thrilling climax to the race.

    Rast passed Albuquerque for the win with just 18 minutes of the six hours remaining.

    Aston Martin Racing duo Nicki Thiim and Marco Sorensen wrapped up the GT drivers' title with their second GTE Pro class win of the season.

    They triumphed aboard their Aston Martin Vantage GTE by just 12s over the factory AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE shared by Gianmaria Bruni and James Calado.

    Third place when to the second AF car driven by Sam Bird and Davide Rigon.

    The second Aston, in which Jonny Adam had returned to the WEC roster to share with Darren Turner, was leading when it lost a wheel straight after a pitstop and ended up fifth.

    Emmanuel Collard, Francois Perrodo and Rui Aguas became GTE Am champions once their only rivals for the title, the Aston Martin crew of Pedro Lamy, Mathias Lauda and Paul Dalla Lana, retired with engine failure.

    Collard and his team-mates finished third in class aboard their AF Ferrari 458 Italia behind two Proton-run Porsches led home by Patrick Long, David Heinemeier Hansson and Khaled Al Qubaisi.


    1LMP1L.di Grassi, L.Duval, O.JarvisAudi Sport Team JoestAudi6h00m12.387s
    2LMP1M.Fassler, A.Lotterer, B.TreluyerAudi Sport Team JoestAudi16.419s
    3LMP1T.Bernhard, M.Webber, B.HartleyPorsche TeamPorsche1m17.001s
    4LMP1A.Davidson, S.Buemi, K.NakajimaToyota Gazoo RacingToyota1 Lap
    5LMP1S.Sarrazin, M.Conway, K.KobayashiToyota Gazoo RacingToyota1 Lap
    6LMP1R.Dumas, N.Jani, M.LiebPorsche TeamPorsche3 Laps
    7LMP1M.Tuscher, D.Kraihamer, A.ImperatoriRebellion RacingRebellion/AER10 Laps
    8LMP1S.Trummer, O.Webb, P.KafferByKOLLES Racing TeamCLM/AER14 Laps
    9LMP2R.Rusinov, R.Rast, A.BrundleG-Drive RacingORECA/Nissan17 Laps
    10LMP2R.Gonzalez, F.Albuquerque, B.SennaRGR Sport by MorandLigier/Nissan17 Laps
    11LMP2G.Menezes, N.Lapierre, S.RichelmiSignatech AlpineAlpine/Nissan18 Laps
    12LMP2R.Dalziel, L.Derani, C.CummingExtreme Speed MotorsportsLigier/Nissan18 Laps
    13LMP2T.Dillmann, G.van der Garde, S.GelaelExtreme Speed MotorsportsLigier/Nissan18 Laps
    14LMP2D.Cheng, H-Pin Tung, P-L.ChatinBaxi DC Racing AlpineAlpine/Nissan19 Laps
    15LMP2J.Canal, R.Gonzalez, R.MerhiManorORECA/Nissan19 Laps
    16LMP2V.Petrov, K.Ladygin, V.ShaytarSMP RacingBR Engineering/Nissan22 Laps
    17LMP2N.Minassian, M.Mediani, M.AleshinSMP RacingBR Engineering/Nissan25 Laps
    18LMP2M.Rao, R.Bradley, A.LynnManorORECA/Nissan26 Laps
    19GTE ProN.Thiim, M.SorensenAston Martin RacingAston Martin27 Laps
    20GTE ProG.Bruni, J.CaladoAF CorseFerrari27 Laps
    21GTE ProD.Rigon, S.BirdAF CorseFerrari28 Laps
    22GTE ProA.Priaulx, H.TincknellFord Chip Ganassi Team UKFord28 Laps
    23GTE ProJ.Adam, D.TurnerAston Martin RacingAston Martin28 Laps
    24GTE ProS.Mucke, O.PlaFord Chip Ganassi Team UKFord29 Laps
    25GTE ProR.Lietz, M.ChristensenDempsey Racing - ProtonPorsche29 Laps
    26GTE AmK.Al Qubaisi, D.H.Hansson, P.LongAbu Dhabi-Proton RacingPorsche30 Laps
    27GTE AmC.Ried, W.Henzler, J.CamathiasKCMGPorsche31 Laps
    28GTE AmF.Perrodo, E.Collard, R.AguasAF CorseFerrari32 Laps
    29GTE AmM.Wainwright, A.Carroll, B.BarkerGulf Racing UKPorsche33 Laps
    30GTE AmP.Ragues, R.Taylor, R.BrandelaLarbre CompetitionChevrolet37 Laps
    -GTE AmP.D.Lana, P.Lamy, M.LaudaAston Martin RacingAston MartinRetirement

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1310
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe