Venkatesh Shetty wins 2018 Monsoon Scooter Rally

    Shetty also set the course record for the event, which was held in Nashik for the first time.

    Published On Aug 27, 2018 02:18:00 PM


    Venkatesh Shetty emerged victorious in the 29th edition of the Monsoon Scooter Rally. It was the first occasion that the scooter rally was held in Nashik and the new location didn’t disappoint competitors or crowds.

    Although, there were only mild showers during the race, it had rained heavily a day earlier and there was enough slush to test the mettle of the riders. Competitors had to complete the 5km route thrice, which ran near the picturesque Sarul Village.

    Shetty completed the first run in 6mins and 13secs, while the third run was completed in 6mins and 3secs. He recorded his personal best and the fastest time of the event in his second run, which was completed in just 5mins and 57secs. Shetty was riding the Aprilia SR 150.

    Mumbai rider Zeeshan Sayed claimed second place, while TVS Racing’s Syed Asif Ali took third. Shamim Khan of TVS Racing was having a good run but faced mechanical issues in the last round, which put him out of podium contention.

    In the 2 stroke category (Group B), Rohan Thakur claimed victory, while Manjit Singh Bassan won the geared scooter up to 160cc category. In the ladies class, Amruta Guruji emerged victorious and she was followed by Priyanka Singh, both of them were riding the Honda Activa.

    The 2018 Monsoon Scooter Rally saw 34 riders from different parts of the country, including Mumbai, Pune, Bhopal, Vadodara, Raigad, Panvel and Nashik competing in the event.

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    The Mahindra XUV 300 facelift will be called the XUV 3XO. Should more brands rename models for facelifts?

    Yes, it could give new life to a slow-selling car



    Yes, but only if there are significant changes



    No, it's confusing and dilutes the brand name



    No difference, the product speaks for itself



    Total Votes : 890
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe