US GP: Hamilton wins from Vettel and Alonso

    US GP: Hamilton wins from Vettel and Alonso, title battle goes to wire

    Published On Nov 19, 2012 05:52:00 PM


    US GP: Hamilton wins from Vettel and Alonso


    Lewis Hamilton beat Sebastian Vettel to victory in an absorbing United States Grand Prix, as Fernando Alonso's third place kept the Formula 1 championship battle alive.
    Despite his defeat at Austin, Vettel remains title favourite, as he takes a 13-point lead over Alonso into next weekend's finale at Interlagos. The constructors' championship is settled though, with Red Bull beating it beyond its rivals' reach.
    Hamilton's relentless pursuit of Vettel kept tension building throughout the race. The McLaren lost second to Vettel's Red Bull team-mate Mark Webber at the start, but soon re-passed the Australian. Webber retired with alternator failure soon afterwards, no doubt prompting nerves in the Red Bull garage.
    Vettel's car was still running smoothly, but it did not have the pace to escape from Hamilton.
    The champion pulled out a little breathing space just before the first pitstops, only for Hamilton to come back with a vengeance once they were both on fresh hard tyres.
    Hamilton spent most of the middle of the race tantalisingly close to Vettel, but was frustrated time and time again by the Red Bull's superior traction. The McLaren would close in through the fast first sector, then struggle to get near enough on the DRS zone straight.
    Finally on lap 42 out of 57 Hamilton managed to pull the move off after Vettel lost time in traffic before the DRS area. Vettel moved to the inside, but the McLaren's straightline pace advantage was so great that McLaren was comfortably ahead before the next corner - prompting angry radio messages from Vettel about backmarker Narain Karthikeyan's HRT.
    The race was far from over, as Hamilton never quite escaped from Vettel. The Red Bull did not manage to get within striking range and Hamilton was able to win in America for the second time in his career, crossing the line a mere six tenths ahead of Vettel, who at least wrapped up another teams' title for his employer.
    Alonso's progress to third was mostly achieved via a superb start from his controversial grid slot. He then swept around the outside at the first corner to secure fourth, which became third after Webber's exit.
    His Ferrari team-mate Felipe Massa recovered from his generously-accepted 11th place on the grid to fourth, showing great race pace throughout.
    Massa came under slight threat from Jenson Button late on. The McLaren had fallen right back to 16th on lap one, before flying through the field as its tyres came to life. Button ran to lap 35 before pitting, and then battled past the two Lotuses to secure fifth.
    Kimi Raikkonen looked like he might challenge Alonso at one stage. Both lost a few seconds at their pitstops, with Raikkonen falling back into traffic and then being overtaken by Massa and Button in the second stint.
    Raikkonen finished just ahead of team-mate Romain Grosjean, who recovered well from spinning on lap five then requiring a lap-nine pitstop. He fell right back to 22nd, but flew thereafter.
    Nico Hulkenberg claimed eighth for Force India by fending off battling Williams duo Pastor Maldonado and Bruno Senna. The pair banged wheels at Turn 1 in the closing laps as Maldonado passed his team-mate.
    Daniel Ricciardo starred in the first stint, rising from 18th on the grid to fifth by staying out until lap 30. But that tactic did not pay off for Toro Rosso as Ricciardo was only 12th in the end.
    Mercedes had a terrible race. Michael Schumacher was overtaken by rival after rival in the opening stint, falling from fifth on the grid to 14th before his first pitstop. He would require more tyres later on too, leaving him 16th, three places behind team-mate Nico Rosberg.
    The USA Grand Prix
    Circuit of the Americas, USA;
    56 laps; 308.896km;
    Weather: Sunny.
    Pos  Driver        Team                       Time
     1.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes           1h35:55.269
     2.  Vettel             Red Bull-Renault           +     0.675
     3.  Alonso           Ferrari                    +    39.229
     4.  Massa           Ferrari                    +    46.013
     5.  Button           McLaren-Mercedes           +    56.432
     6.  Raikkonen    Lotus-Renault              +  1:04.425
     7.  Grosjean       Lotus-Renault              +  1:10.313
     8.  Hulkenberg   Force India-Mercedes       +  1:13.792
     9.  Maldonado    Williams-Renault           +  1:14.525
    10.  Senna          Williams-Renault           +  1:15.133
    11.  Perez           Sauber-Ferrari             +  1:24.341
    12.  Ricciardo    Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +  1:24.871
    13.  Rosberg      Mercedes                   +  1:25.510
    14.  Kobayashi   Sauber-Ferrari             +     1 lap
    15.  Di Resta       Force India-Mercedes       +     1 lap
    16.  Schumacher    Mercedes                   +     1 lap
    17.  Petrov           Caterham-Renault           +     1 lap
    18.  Kovalainen    Caterham-Renault           +     1 lap
    19.  Glock            Marussia-Cosworth          +     1 lap
    20.  Pic                Marussia-Cosworth          +    2 laps
    21.  De la Rosa    HRT-Cosworth               +    2 laps
    22.  Karthikeyan   HRT-Cosworth               +    2 laps
    Fastest lap: Vettel, 1:39.347
    Not classified/retirements:
    Driver        Team                         On lap
    Webber        Red Bull-Renault             17
    Vergne        Toro Rosso-Ferrari           15
    World Championship standings, round 19:                
    Drivers:                    Constructors:             
     1.  Vettel       273        1.  Red Bull-Renault          440
     2.  Alonso       260        2.  Ferrari                   367
     3.  Raikkonen    206        3.  McLaren-Mercedes          353
     4.  Hamilton     190        4.  Lotus-Renault             302
     5.  Webber       167        5.  Mercedes                  136
     6.  Button       163        6.  Sauber-Ferrari            124
     7.  Massa        107        7.  Force India-Mercedes       99
     8.  Grosjean      96        8.  Williams-Renault           76
     9.  Rosberg       93        9.  Toro Rosso-Ferrari         22
    10.  Perez         66       
    11.  Kobayashi     58       
    12.  Hulkenberg    53       
    13.  Di Resta      46       
    14.  Maldonado     45       
    15.  Schumacher    43       
    16.  Senna         31       
    17.  Vergne        12       
    18.  Ricciardo     10       


    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1362
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe