Rosberg storms to commanding maiden win

    McLaren duo Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton completed the podium, ahead of Red Bull's Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel.

    Published On Apr 15, 2012 07:01:00 PM


    Rosberg storms to commanding maiden win

    Nico Rosberg finally claimed his maiden Formula 1 race victory, and a first win for the modern incarnation of the factory Mercedes team, with a commanding drive in a thrilling Chinese Grand Prix.

    The result made Rosberg the first new winner since Mark Webber took victory in the 2009 German Grand Prix. The last triumph for a works Mercedes was back in the 1955 Italian GP with Juan Manuel Fangio.

    McLaren duo Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton completed the podium, ahead of Red Bull's Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel.

    At a track where he had led only to fade in each of the last two years, Rosberg ensured he stayed at the head of an absorbing race in which myriad tyre strategies played out through a lead pack that sometimes grew to a dozen cars.

    Not only did drivers vary between two and three pitstops, but there were huge differences in stint length. Despite Mercedes' tyre difficulties in the opening two 2012 races, this time the team handled the rubber perfectly - allowing Rosberg to deploy a textbook two-stop strategy and keep himself ahead of most of the action.

    The German pulled away from his team-mate Michael Schumacher in the opening laps, soon establishing a four-second lead. Schumacher's chance to feature in the lead battle then ended when he retired with an incorrectly fitted right-front wheel immediately after his first pitstop.

    Button was Rosberg's main threat thereafter. A great start immediately took him to third, and he was catching Rosberg on a three-stop plan for a while, only for Rosberg's pace immediately after his final stop to secure his victory even before Button's lost several seconds with a left rear wheel issue at his final pitstop.

    Kimi Raikkonen's two-stopping Lotus held second going into the closing stages, but trying to do half the race on his third set of tyres proved too optimistic, and he tumbled from second to 14th in just a handful of laps.

    Vettel, following a similar strategy, was first to pass Raikkonen, and looked like he might salvage second from his qualifying disaster. He could not hold off the McLarens or Webber with their fresher tyres from a three-stop strategy, with Button getting through five laps from the end and Hamilton and Webber doing likewise amid a thrilling tussle over the last two laps. Webber took fourth despite his first pitstop coming as early as lap six, and two trips off the road - one of which featured a wild flight over the Turn 13 kerbs.

    While Raikkonen fell back, his team-mate Romain Grosjean did a two-stop plan with a very long middle stint and was able to battle to sixth, ahead of Williams duo Bruno Senna and Pastor Maldonado.

    Erstwhile championship leader Fernando Alonso was ninth for Ferrari, having lost a little ground running off-track trying to pass Maldonado.

    Sauber was a factor in this pack but could not repeat its Malaysian heroics. Kamui Kobayashi fell back with a poor start and finished 10th, just ahead of team-mate Sergio Perez, who led for a while on a two-stop plan. Paul di Resta (Force India) and Felipe Massa - who also led for a spell in his Ferrari - followed them home.

    The Chinese Grand Prix
    Shanghai, China;
    56 laps; 305.066km;
    Weather: Dry.
    Pos  Driver        Team                       Time
     1.  Rosberg       Mercedes                   1h36:26.929
     2.  Button        McLaren-Mercedes           +    20.626
     3.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes           +    26.012
     4.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault           +    27.924
     5.  Vettel        Red Bull-Renault           +    30.483
     6.  Grosjean      Lotus-Renault              +    31.491
     7.  Senna         Williams-Renault           +    34.597
     8.  Maldonado     Williams-Renault           +    35.643
     9.  Alonso        Ferrari                    +    37.256
    10.  Kobayashi     Sauber-Ferrari             +    38.720
    11.  Perez         Sauber-Ferrari             +    41.066
    12.  Di Resta      Force India-Mercedes       +    42.273
    13.  Massa         Ferrari                    +    42.700
    14.  Raikkonen     Lotus-Renault              +    50.500
    15.  Hulkenberg    Force India-Mercedes       +    51.200
    16.  Vergne        Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +    51.700
    17.  Ricciardo     Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +  1:03.100
    18.  Petrov        Caterham-Renault           +     1 lap
    19.  Glock         Marussia-Cosworth          +     1 lap
    20.  Pic           Marussia-Cosworth          +     1 lap
    21.  De la Rosa    HRT-Cosworth               +     1 lap
    22.  Karthikeyan   HRT-Cosworth               +    2 laps
    23.  Kovalainen    Caterham-Renault           +    3 laps
    Fastest lap: Kobayashi, 1:39.960
    Not classified/retirements:
    Driver        Team                         On lap
    Schumacher    Mercedes                              16
    World Championship standings, round 3:                
    Drivers:                    Constructors:             
     1.  Hamilton      45        1.  McLaren-Mercedes           88
     2.  Button        43        2.  Red Bull-Renault           64
     3.  Alonso        37        3.  Ferrari                    37
     4.  Webber        36        4.  Sauber-Ferrari             31
     5.  Vettel        28        5.  Mercedes                   26
     6.  Rosberg       25        6.  Lotus-Renault              24
     7.  Perez         22        7.  Williams-Renault           18
     8.  Raikkonen     16        8.  Force India-Mercedes        9
     9.  Senna         14        9.  Toro Rosso-Ferrari          6
    10.  Kobayashi      9       
    11.  Grosjean       8       
    12.  Di Resta       7       
    13.  Vergne         4       
    14.  Maldonado      4       
    15.  Ricciardo      2       
    16.  Hulkenberg     2       
    17.  Schumacher     1       
    All timing unofficial

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    The Mahindra XUV 300 facelift will be called the XUV 3XO. Should more brands rename models for facelifts?

    Yes, it could give new life to a slow-selling car



    Yes, but only if there are significant changes



    No, it's confusing and dilutes the brand name



    No difference, the product speaks for itself



    Total Votes : 1014
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe