Rana seals eighth Raid win

Rana seals eighth Raid win

13th Oct 2012 5:02 pm

The Manali driver won the 14th edition of the Raid-de-Himalaya driving a Maruti Vitara.

Ace cross-country rallyist Suresh Rana won his eighth Raid title at the 14th Maruti Suzuki Raid De Himalaya, driving a Grand Vitara for Team Maruti.

 Delhi's Amanpreet Ahluwalia, driving a Maruti Gypsy, finished second in Raid Xtreme after while Lt Col Shakti Bajaj of Team Army, also driving a Gypsy rounded of the podium at the end of the gruelling eight-day event.   

After being flagged off from Shimla on October 7, the Raid went through the high mountain passes of Baralacha La, Jalori Jot, Rohtang La, Kunzum La and Yar La, before concluding at Leh. In fact, the last competitive leg of the Raid was cancelled on account of  of snow blizzards at Wari La.

 Of the total 50 entries in Raid Xtreme, only 16 crossed the finish line, with DNFs including top contender Sunny Sidhu whose Mahindra XUV 500 gave up the ghost early on day one. 

In the adventure category, which follows the Time-Speed-Distance (TSD) format, the top position was bagged by K Prasad, driving a Maruti Suzuki Grand Vitara, while second and third places were taken by Satish Gopalkrishnan and Jagmeet Gill of Chandigarh.

Bangalore's CS Santosh emerged on top in the extreme two-wheeler class.



1st Suresh Rana
2nd Amanpreet Ahluwalia 
3rd Lt Col Shakti Bajaj

X-TREME (Motorcycles and Quads) 
1st CS Santosh
2nd Helmut Frauwallner
3rd Raj Singh Rathore

1st K Prasad 
2nd Satish Gopalkrishnan
3rd Jagmeet Gil

ADVENTURE (Cars – Class I) 
1st Mahesh Kumar 
2nd Siddhartha Singh
3rd Chetan Joshi

Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.