Picariello and Reddy win in MRF Challenge

    The race was red-flagged on lap three when Guiliano Alesi crashed. The final result was based on the combined times of the race.

    Published On Dec 19, 2015 01:09:00 PM


    Picariello and Reddy win in MRF Challenge

    Indian Tarun Reddy won his first race of the MRF Challenge 2015 after beating Tatiana Calderon in race two of Round 3 of the MRF Challenge 2015 at the Dubai Autodrome.

    The race was red-flagged on lap three when Guiliano Alesi crashed. The final result was based on the combined times of the race before the red flag and the last five laps of the race.

    While Calderon crossed the finish line in first place after overtaking Reddy, the Indian driver was adjudged the winner after winning the race by 0.260secs. Russian driver Nikita Troitckii got his second podium of the day with a third place finish. Earlier in the day Alessio Picariello continued his great form by winning Race 1 after a three way battle with Pietro Fittipaldi and Troitckii, who finished in 2nd and 3rd place.

    In Race one, pole sitter Picariello kept his lead into the first corner while Troitckii held on to 2nd place with Fittipaldi jumping a slow starting Sean Walkinshaw into 3rd. Female driver Tatiana Calderon had a qualifying session to forget but made up for it with a great start. She hunted down 4th place man Harrison Newey on lap 2 to move up another place. The battle for the lead was heating up with Picariello unable to shake off Troitckii and Fittipaldi. Fittipaldi took advantage of the battle to pass Troitckii on lap 6 and move into 2nd place.

    Behind them Calderon was 4th place with fast charging Indian Reddy moving up from 10th on the grid to 5th on lap 7 after some good overtaking moves. Picariello crossed the finish line in first place with Fittipaldi and Troitckii in tow, the top three being covered by less than a second. Calderon finished in 4th place with Reddy in a strong 5th place, ahead of Max Fewtrell. Harrison Newey finished in 7th place, ahead of Nerses Isaakyan, Dylan Young and Giuliano Alesi.

    Race two started with Max Fewtrell on reverse grid pole, alongside Reddy. Reddy got the jump on him and moved into first place into the first corner. He was followed by Fewtrell, Troitckii, Calderon and Picariello. Alesi crashed at the end of lap 1 with Sean Walkinshaw also crashing out in a separate incident which brought out the safety car. The race was finally red-flagged on lap 3 to clear the car and fix the barrier. Picariello suffered a steering problem and was forced to pit and start from there for the restart ending his dream run of results. The race was to be restarted and be a 5 lap encounter.

    Reddy led from the start and was followed by Fewtrell and a fast starting Calderon. Calderon started putting pressure on Reddy and finally passed the Indian on the penultimate lap. Calderon crossed the finish line in first place with Reddy holding off 4 cars to finish in 2nd place. He was adjudged the winner by tiniest of margins with Calderon having to settle for 2nd place. Troitckii finished in 3rd, followed by Fewtrell, Isaakyan, Fittipaldi and Young.

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    The Mahindra XUV 300 facelift will be called the XUV 3XO. Should more brands rename models for facelifts?

    Yes, it could give new life to a slow-selling car



    Yes, but only if there are significant changes



    No, it's confusing and dilutes the brand name



    No difference, the product speaks for itself



    Total Votes : 681
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe