Peterhansel clinches 12th Dakar win

    With a one-hour lead after his Peugeot team-mates encountered dramas Peterhansel had been able to drive conservatively through the final days.

    Published On Jan 17, 2016 11:18:00 AM


    Peterhansel clinches 12th Dakar win

    Stephane Peterhansel clinched his 12th Dakar Rally victory and Peugeot's first since 1990 with a calm run through the final stage on Saturday.

    Having been left with a massive one-hour lead as his Peugeot team-mates Sebastien Loeb and Carlos Sainz encountered dramas during the second week, Peterhansel had been able to drive conservatively through the final days.

    The concluding run back from Villa Carlos Paz was the same story, as Peterhansel came in seven and a half minutes slower than stage pacesetter Loeb to seal outright victory by 34m58s from last year's winner Nasser Al-Attiyah in the lead X-raid Mini.

    Al-Attiyah's team-mate Mikko Hirvonen was a close second to Loeb on stage 13, following on from his maiden Dakar stage win on Friday.

    He completed his first attempt at the event in fourth overall, between the Toyotas of 2009 winner Giniel de Villiers and Leeroy Poulter.

    The big story of the 2016 Dakar had been Hirvonen's former World Rally Championship nemesis Loeb's form on his event debut.

    The nine-time WRC champion led for most of the first week, before tumbling down the order following a crash and then a number of further tribulations when the rally moved into the dunes in its second half. Loeb eventually finished ninth.

    Sainz looked like Peugeot's most likely victor once Loeb was delayed, only to retire from the lead on Wednesday when a spacer between his car's engine and gearbox broke.

    In bikes, Toby Price took his maiden Dakar win, having run in the top 10 throughout the two weeks of competition.  in his debut last year, the Australian rode smartly to grab a clear win. Price, a good navigator impervious to pressure, which came especially from the Honda camp, wasted precious little time wandering around. The first Aussie to win the race, looked every bit the new Dakar boss in a category that is undergoing a major renewal.

    The best finishing Sherco-TVS entry was that of French rider Florent Vayssade - who crossed the line in 27th place. 

    2016 Dakar
    Final RESULTS:



    PETERHANSEL (FRA)                       PEUGEOT                            45:22:10
    AL-ATTIYAH (QAT)                           MINI                                      45:57:08
    DE VILLIERS (ZAF)                             TOYOTA                               46:24:57


    PRICE (AUS)                                       KTM                                       48:09:15
    SVITKO (SVK)                                     KTM                                       48:48:56
    QUINTANILLA (CHL)                        HUSQVARNA                     48:58:03




    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.


    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now
    Search By Car Price
    Poll of the month

    Which was your favourite Car, SUV at Auto Expo 2023

    Maruti Suzuki Jimny



    Maruti Suzuki Fronx



    Maruti Suzuki eVX concept



    Tata Harrier EV



    Tata Sierra



    Hyundai Ioniq 5



    Hyundai Ioniq 6



    Kia EV9 concept






    Toyota Land Cruiser 300



    Total Votes : 3194
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe