MotoGP: Pedrosa claims record pole

    The Spaniard smashed Casey Stoner's qualifying lap record from 2008 in the process.

    Published On Jun 16, 2013 10:25:00 AM


    MotoGP: Pedrosa claims record pole

    Dani Pedrosa took a dominant pole position for the MotoGP race at Barcelona, smashing Casey Stoner's qualifying lap record from 2008 in the process.

    The factory Honda rider went seven tenths clear of the field with his best lap on his final run.

    His 1m40.893s was nearly 0.3 seconds faster than Stoner's record, which was set when qualifying tyres were still used in MotoGP.

    Pedrosa's chasers were able to trim the gap by only another tenth of a second. Jorge Lorenzo briefly stole second place from Cal Crutchlow, but the Briton took it back seconds later.

     All the motorsport action as it happens with Race Centre Live

    Lorenzo's session was not straightforward, as he abandoned his first run with a clutch problem.

    After some animated discussions with his Yamaha crew he returned to the track with just enough time to put a run together and get onto the front row for Sunday's race.

    Alvaro Bautista was another to shine late in the Q2 session to take fourth, and he will lead the second row of the grid ahead of Nicky Hayden and Marc Marquez.

    Valentino Rossi's qualifying struggles continued, and he could only manage the seventh-best time.


    Pos  Rider             Team/Bike             Time       Gap
     1.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                 1m40.893s
     2.  Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha         1m41.501s  +0.608s
     3.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                1m41.566s  +0.673s
     4.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda         1m41.714s  +0.821s
     5.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                1m41.800s  +0.907s
     6.  Marc Marquez      Honda                 1m41.842s  +0.949s
     7.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                1m41.959s  +1.066s
     8.  Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati         1m41.963s  +1.070s
     9.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                1m42.053s  +1.160s
    10.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda             1m42.090s  +1.197s
    11.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha         1m42.548s  +1.655s
    12.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia         1m42.878s  +1.985s
    13.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia         1m43.186s  +2.293s
    14.  Michele Pirro     Pramac Ducati         1m43.330s  +2.437s
    15.  Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  1m43.659s  +2.766s
    16.  Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  1m43.983s  +3.090s
    17.  Karel Abraham     Cardion Aprilia       1m44.362s  +3.469s
    18.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW        1m44.369s  +3.476s
    19.  Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  1m44.603s  +3.710s
    20.  Michael Laverty   PBM-Aprilia           1m44.630s  +3.737s
    21.  Yonny Hernandez   PBM Aprilia           1m44.913s  +4.020s
    22.  Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda     1m45.441s  +4.548s
    23.  Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW        1m46.302s  +5.409s
    24.  Javier del Amor   Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  1m48.952s  +8.059s

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.


    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now
    Search By Car Price
    Poll of the month

    Which was your favourite Car, SUV at Auto Expo 2023

    Maruti Suzuki Jimny



    Maruti Suzuki Fronx



    Maruti Suzuki eVX concept



    Tata Harrier EV



    Tata Sierra



    Hyundai Ioniq 5



    Hyundai Ioniq 6



    Kia EV9 concept






    Toyota Land Cruiser 300



    Total Votes : 2783
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe