MotoGP: Marquez dominates in Honda one-two at Sachsenring

MotoGP: Marquez dominates in Honda one-two at Sachsenring

13th Jul 2015 11:36 am

Reigning champion Marquez had won from pole at the track every year since his 125cc title-winning campaign in 2010.

Marc Marquez finally took his second win of the 2015 MotoGP season by dominating the German Grand Prix at the Sachsenring for Honda.

Reigning champion Marquez had won from pole at the track every year since his 125cc title-winning campaign in 2010, and that streak looked safe when he topped every practice session and claimed pole this weekend.

It wasn't totally straightforward for Marquez, who was jumped by Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa at the lights and ended up in third as Jorge Lorenzo swept around the outside of them both on his Yamaha.

Honda made a unique choice of standard hard front Bridgestones on a day when everyone else chose the softer 'Sachsenring special' asymmetric front, potentially setting up a battle of tyre strategies.

In the event, the Hondas were simply faster in the race as they had been for much of the weekend.

Marquez quickly demoted Pedrosa to third and by the end of lap five he was through on Lorenzo into the lead.

From there Marquez quickly escaped, leaving the Yamahas to fight over second.

It took repeated attempts before Rossi was able to overtake Lorenzo, and even once clear he did not have the pace to keep up with Marquez.

Instead he had to focus on Pedrosa, who also passed Lorenzo and then made it a Honda one-two by passing Rossi at half-distance.

Rossi clung on behind Pedrosa until the final laps before settling for third, which still increased his championship lead to 13 points as Lorenzo drifted away in fourth.

Andrea Iannone completed the top five after a lonely race on the best of the Ducatis.

His team-mate Andrea Dovizioso crashed out of eighth, while underdog qualifying star Yonny Hernandez tumbled back from fifth to 12th on the Pramac Ducati.

Britons Bradley Smith and Cal Crutchlow were sixth and seventh.

The biggest dice of the race was over eighth place, a battle involving six bikes in the middle stages.

Pol Espargaro eventually won it ahead of Danilo Petrucci.

The Suzukis were left squabbling over 10th place, a battle Aleix Espargaro by just 0.021 seconds over Maverick Vinales at the line.


Pos Rider Team Bike Gap
1 Marc Marquez Honda Honda 41m01.087s
2 Daniel Pedrosa Honda Honda 2.226s
3 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha 5.608s
4 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Yamaha 9.928s
5 Andrea Iannone Ducati Ducati 20.785s
6 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 23.215s
7 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 29.881s
8 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha 34.953s
9 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Racing Ducati 35.875s
10 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Suzuki 37.253s
11 Maverick Vinales Suzuki Suzuki 37.274s
12 Yonny Hernandez Pramac Racing Ducati 42.081s
13 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing Ducati 48.611s
14 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Gresini Aprilia 50.687s
15 Jack Miller LCR Honda 53.769s
16 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 58.921s
17 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 1m02.738s
18 Alex de Angelis IodaRacing Project ART/Aprilia 1m03.122s
19 Loris Baz Forward Racing Yamaha Forward 1m11.162s
20 Michael Laverty Aprilia Gresini Aprilia 1m15.910s
- Claudio Corti Forward Racing Yamaha Forward Retirement
- Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati Retirement
- Hiroshi Aoyama AB Motoracing Honda Retirement
- Mike Di Meglio Avintia Racing Ducati Retirement
- Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda Retirement


Pos Rider Points
1 Valentino Rossi 179
2 Jorge Lorenzo 166
3 Andrea Iannone 118
4 Marc Marquez 114
5 Andrea Dovizioso 87
6 Bradley Smith 87
7 Daniel Pedrosa 67
8 Cal Crutchlow 66
9 Pol Espargaro 64
10 Maverick Vinales 57
11 Danilo Petrucci 51
12 Aleix Espargaro 44
13 Yonny Hernandez 32
14 Scott Redding 30
15 Hector Barbera 19
16 Loris Baz 14
17 Alvaro Bautista 13
18 Jack Miller 12
19 Stefan Bradl 9
20 Michele Pirro 8
21 Nicky Hayden 8
22 Eugene Laverty 7
23 Hiroshi Aoyama 5
24 Mike Di Meglio 2
25 Alex de Angelis 1


Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.