MotoGP: Lorenzo on pole at Jerez

    Dani Pedrosa will start second, 0.247 seconds away from Lorenzo, having been one of the men to fall in the dramatic closing minutes.

    Published On May 04, 2013 11:54:00 PM


    MotoGP: Lorenzo on pole at Jerez

    Jorge Lorenzo held on for a home MotoGP pole position at Jerez as many of his main rivals crashed.

    Dani Pedrosa will start second, 0.247 seconds away from Lorenzo, having been one of the men to fall in the dramatic closing minutes.

    Valentino Rossi and Cal Crutchlow also crashed. Like Pedrosa, both were unhurt.

    Marc Marquez had got his crash out of the way in the practice four session just before qualifying. He stayed upright in the pole shootout and completes the front row.

    Yamaha rider Lorenzo was on top for the majority of Q2, improving to a 1m38.673s to seal the place.

    Pedrosa's high-speed fall came as he was trying to respond, and was followed just moments later by a similar incident for Rossi. Their respective Honda and Yamaha bikes sustained hefty damage, but the riders were unscathed.

    Marquez's incident had been far less spectacular - the Austin winner sliding off in a low-speed low-side in final practice.

    Within just four minutes of his violent fall early in Q2, Crutchlow was back in the pits and jumping on his spare Tech 3 Yamaha.

    Despite a gallant effort in gravel-covered leathers, the Briton could not improve and remained fourth, ahead of Rossi and Alvaro Bautista.

    Nicky Hayden was the quickest of the Ducatis in seventh.

    Hector Barbera's stunning practice form continued as the Avintia man became the only CRT rider to reach Q2, doing so at the expense of Ducati guest Michele Pirro.

    Barbera then became yet another crasher in Q2, yet still beat Andrea Iannone and Bradley Smith to 10th on the grid.

    Iannone had mitigating circumstances, as he had a nasty fall in Q1, sustaining severe leg cuts.

    Completing the incident list, both Lukas Pesek and Colin Edwards crashed their bikes during the opening segment.

    Pos  Rider             Team/Bike              Time       Gap
     1.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                 1m38.673s
     2.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                  1m38.920s  + 0.247s
     3.  Marc Marquez      Honda                  1m38.971s  + 0.298s
     4.  Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha          1m39.262s  + 0.589s
     5.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                 1m39.300s  + 0.627s
     6.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda          1m39.509s  + 0.836s
     7.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                 1m39.654s  + 0.981s
     8.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda              1m39.847s  + 1.174s
     9.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                 1m39.848s  + 1.175s
    10.  Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki   1m39.980s  + 1.307s
    11.  Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati          1m40.087s  + 1.414s
    12.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha          1m40.356s  + 1.683s
    13.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia          1m40.085s  + 1.412s
    14.  Michele Pirro     Ducati                 1m40.182s  + 1.509s
    15.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia          1m40.466s  + 1.793s
    16.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki   1m40.654s  + 1.981s
    17.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW         1m40.852s  + 2.179s
    18.  Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda      1m41.324s  + 2.651s
    19.  Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki   1m41.513s  + 2.840s
    20.  Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki   1m41.536s  + 2.863s
    21.  Yonny Hernandez   Paul Bird Aprilia      1m41.779s  + 3.106s
    22.  Michael Laverty   Paul Bird PBM-Aprilia  1m41.935s  + 3.262s
    23.  Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW         1m43.220s  + 4.547s

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1365
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe