MotoGP Lemans: Lorenzo leads Rossi for Yamaha 1-2

    The Spaniard did not put a wheel wrong during the French Grand Prix and kept team-mate Rossi at arm's length.

    Published On May 18, 2015 03:20:00 PM


    MotoGP Lemans: Lorenzo leads Rossi for Yamaha 1-2

    Jorge Lorenzo made it back-to-back MotoGP wins with a commanding ride to victory, leading Valentino Rossi home in a Yamaha one-two at Le Mans.

    The Spaniard did not put a wheel wrong during the French Grand Prix and kept team-mate Rossi at arm's length in the final half of the race to earn a second win of the season.

    Lorenzo made a solid start from third on the grid to follow Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso past poleman Marc Marquez, and moved to the front when Marquez ran too deep into the Dunlop chicane.

    The Honda rider briefly retook the lead but dropped to fourth as he regained control of his bike, delaying Dovizioso in the process and handing Lorenzo the initiative.

    Lorenzo needed no second invitation and immediately edged clear of Dovizioso, the second Ducati of Andrea Iannone and Marquez.

    Honda's poor start to the race got worse at the start of the second lap as the returning Dani Pedrosa crashed while running seventh. The injured Spaniard resumed, and ran to the end, finishing 18th.

    Things got worse for Honda when Rossi made short work of Marquez, who then ran wide to drop behind Bradley Smith and Cal Crutchlow.

    Dovizioso briefly caught and pressured Lorenzo but when Rossi dived by Iannone with a third of the race run the leader bolted, turning the wick up at the perfect time as Rossi caught Dovizioso and made short work of the leading Ducati.

    By the time the Yamahas ran in tandem Lorenzo had a 1.8s lead, one that Rossi never looked in danger of overturning as the championship leader settled for second.

    Dovizioso completed the podium in third ahead of Marquez, who recovered from his poor start to beat Iannone and Smith in a tight battle late on.

    Crutchlow started fourth but fell to seventh at the start, and was the first victim of Marquez's recovery ride before crashing his LCR Honda shortly after.

    His exit allowed Pol Espargaro, Yonny Hernandez, Maverick Vinales and Danilo Petrucci to complete the top 10.


    1Jorge LorenzoYamahaYamaha2843m44.143s
    2Valentino RossiYamahaYamaha283.820s
    3Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati2812.380s
    4Marc MarquezHondaHonda2819.890s
    5Andrea IannoneDucatiDucati2820.237s
    6Bradley SmithTech 3Yamaha2821.145s
    7Pol EspargaroTech 3Yamaha2835.493s
    8Yonny HernandezPramac RacingDucati2839.601s
    9Maverick VinalesSuzukiSuzuki2841.571s
    10Danilo PetrucciPramac RacingDucati2842.789s
    11Nicky HaydenAsparHonda2853.636s
    12Loris BazForward RacingYamaha Forward281m00.617s
    13Hector BarberaAvintia RacingDucati281m04.272s
    14Eugene LavertyAsparHonda281m05.259s
    15Alvaro BautistaAprilia GresiniAprilia281m05.515s
    16Daniel PedrosaHondaHonda281m20.907s
    17Alex de AngelisIodaRacing ProjectART/Aprilia281m21.663s
    18Marco MelandriAprilia GresiniAprilia271 Lap
    -Jack MillerLCRHonda14Retirement
    -Karel AbrahamAB MotoracingHonda14Retirement
    -Cal CrutchlowLCRHonda7Retirement
    -Scott ReddingMarc VDSHonda3Retirement
    -Mike Di MeglioAvintia RacingDucati3Retirement
    -Aleix EspargaroSuzukiSuzuki2Retirement
    -Stefan BradlForward RacingYamaha Forward1Retirement

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.


    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now
    Search By Car Price
    Poll of the month

    Which was your favourite Car, SUV at Auto Expo 2023

    Maruti Suzuki Jimny



    Maruti Suzuki Fronx



    Maruti Suzuki eVX concept



    Tata Harrier EV



    Tata Sierra



    Hyundai Ioniq 5



    Hyundai Ioniq 6



    Kia EV9 concept






    Toyota Land Cruiser 300



    Total Votes : 4399
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe