MotoGP: Bradl takes shock Laguna pole

    Championship leader Marc Marquez blew his chances with a crash.

    Published On Jul 21, 2013 12:17:00 PM


    MotoGP: Bradl takes shock Laguna pole

    Stefan Bradl claimed a shock MotoGP pole at Laguna Seca after Marc Marquez blew his chances with a crash.

    Marquez had looked set to dominate qualifying, having been quickest in practicesessions two, three and four, and with main rivals Jorge Lorenzo and Dani Pedrosa nursing injuries.

    Championship leader Marquez duly commenced Q2 with two laps half a second clear of the pack.

    But while trying to improve further, he slid into a low-side crash at Turn 6.

    Until the final minute, it appeared that Marquez's 1m21.193s might still hold for pole.

    That was until Bradl launched his LCR Honda to the top with a lap 0.017 seconds faster than the man he beat to the 2011 Moto2 title, giving the German his first ever MotoGP pole.

    It was an all-Honda front row, with Alvaro Bautista's thrid place for Gresini almost as big a surprise as Bradl's pole given the Spaniard's recent difficulties.

    Valentino Rossi was the fastest Yamaha in fourth.

    Cal Crutchlow had a troubled session, crashing in practice four just before qualifying then losing half of Q2 to a sensor problem on his Tech 3 Yamaha.

    The Briton salvaged fifth with one of the few flying laps he managed.

    Lorenzo challenged for a front row spot despite his injuries, but ultimately had to settle for sixth.

    That was just one place ahead of Pedrosa, who made short work of getting through Q1 to the pole shootout having sat out practice one and three to avoid straining his damaged shoulder.

    Andrea Dovizioso was top Ducati in eighth, followed by Bradley Smith, Nicky Hayden and CRT pacesetter Aleix Espargaro.

    The latter's Aspar team-mate Randy de Puniet reached Q2 but crashed at Turn 3 before he could set a time.

    Pramac's stand-in rider Alex de Angelis will start 14th for his MotoGP comeback.

    Only 23 bikes will contest the race as American wildcard Blake Young and his Attack team had to withdraw following Young's destructive crash on Friday afternoon.

    Pos  Rider             Team/Bike             Time       Gap
     1.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda             1m21.176s
     2.  Marc Marquez      Honda                 1m21.193s  +0.017s
     3.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda         1m21.373s  +0.197s
     4.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                1m21.418s  +0.242s
     5.  Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha         1m21.420s  +0.244s
     6.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                1m21.453s  +0.277s
     7.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                 1m21.728s  +0.552s
     8.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                1m22.026s  +0.850s
     9.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha         1m22.075s  +0.899s
    10.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                1m22.090s  +0.914s
    11.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia         1m22.099s  +0.923s
    12.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia
    13.  Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  1m22.808s  Q1
    14.  Alex de Angelis   Pramac Ducati         1m23.253s  Q1
    15.  Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  1m23.272s  Q1
    16.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW        1m23.323s  Q1
    17.  Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  1m23.616s  Q1
    18.  Yonny Hernandez   PBM Aprilia           1m23.875s  Q1
    19.  Karel Abraham     Cardion Aprilia       1m23.919s  Q1
    20.  Michael Laverty   PBM-Aprilia           1m23.987s  Q1
    21.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  1m24.235s  Q1
    22.  Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda     1m24.756s  Q1
    23.  Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW        1m24.809s  Q1

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.


    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now
    Search By Car Price
    Poll of the month

    Which was your favourite Car, SUV at Auto Expo 2023

    Maruti Suzuki Jimny



    Maruti Suzuki Fronx



    Maruti Suzuki eVX concept



    Tata Harrier EV



    Tata Sierra



    Hyundai Ioniq 5



    Hyundai Ioniq 6



    Kia EV9 concept






    Toyota Land Cruiser 300



    Total Votes : 4363
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe