Montoya wins thrilling Indy 500

    The win came 15 years after Montoya's last Indy 500 victory, and he certainly had to work a lot harder for it.

    Published On May 25, 2015 03:26:00 PM


    Montoya wins thrilling Indy 500

    Juan Pablo Montoya won the Indianapolis 500 after an epic race-long battle between IndyCar powerhouses Penske and Ganassi.

    The two Chevrolet teams had occupied the top seven places for much of the race, but in the final stages the battle for the win had been whittled down to a four-way fight between Montoya, Will Power (both Penske), Scott Dixon and Charlie Kimball (both Ganassi).

    The Penskes managed to open a small gap over their Ganassi counterparts in the closing laps, and with three to go Montoya dived past Power on the outside to take the lead into Turn 1.

    That should have left him vulnerable to a counter-attack from the Australian, but he managed to keep his team-mate at bay all the way to the end.

    The win came 15 years after Montoya's last Indy 500 victory, and he certainly had to work a lot harder for it: early on, he was running last after he was hit from behind by Simona de Silvestro under yellows and needed to pit for a new rear wing assembly.

    Later, he lost more time when he overshot his markers during his second fuel stop.

    A subsequent caution allowed him to regain a lot of the gap and move back within range of the leaders.

    "That was fun," he said. "I knew I had a good car when I came through the field.

    "But the fight at the end was hard. It's awesome. I'm looking for the words; it's too much."

    Power ended the day with his career-best finish at Indy, but was more focused on how easily the win could have been his.

    "Maybe I was a bit nice to Montoya into Turn 1, I lifted," he said.

    "I got really close and then I washed out and had to lift.

    "That was some serious racing there, a lot of fun. Credit to the team, finishing 1-2.

    "Just too much push there. Congrats to Juan, he was strong all day. It sucks finishing second; it's the Indy 500."

    Kimball managed to pass Dixon in the closing laps to secure third, leaving the Kiwi - who led a race-high 83 laps - to settle for fourth.

    "We had a good restart; was just trying to pace it," Dixon said. "When I really needed to go I just couldn't turn the car.

    "As the laps were counting down I was trying to make something happen, but the front wouldn't hang on. Congrats to Juan, he drove a hell of a race."

    Tony Kanaan could have been in the mix as well, but he was eliminated from the race when he was caught out by an aero adjustment and spun into the Turn 3 wall at around three-quarter distance.

    The Brazilian's accident was just one in a day filled with incidents.

    The most serious came late in the race when Jack Hawksworth spun into Sebastian Saavedra, putting both cars into the wall and also leaving Stefano Coletti with nowhere to go but into Saavedra's car.

    Saavedra was taken to a nearby hospital for further evaluation of a contusion to his foot, but Hawksworth and Coletti were uninjured.

    The other major incident occurred in pitlane, and involved all three of the Dale Coyne Racing cars.

    James Davison's car was released into the path of Pippa Mann, and the resultant contact bounced Davison into the pit box ahead, where Tristan Vautier's car was receiving service.

    Two of Vautier's crew were hit, with one being checked at the infield medical centre and cleared, and the other taken to hospital with ankle injuries.


    1Juan Pablo MontoyaTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet2003h05m56.5286s
    2Will PowerTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet2000.1046s
    3Charlie KimballChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Chevrolet2000.7950s
    4Scott DixonChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Chevrolet2001.0292s
    5Graham RahalRahal Letterman LaniganDallara/Honda2002.3122s
    6Marco AndrettiAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda2002.5388s
    7Helio CastronevesTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet2002.7821s
    8J.R. HildebrandCFH RacingDallara/Chevrolet2003.5631s
    9Josef NewgardenCFH RacingDallara/Chevrolet2004.0281s
    10Simon PagenaudTeam PenskeDallara/Chevrolet2004.2148s
    11Sebastien BourdaisKVSH RacingDallara/Chevrolet2005.3067s
    12Ryan BriscoeSchmidt Peterson MotorsportsDallara/Honda2005.6687s
    13Takuma SatoAJ Foyt EnterprisesDallara/Honda2006.1678s
    14Townsend BellDreyer and ReinboldDallara/Chevrolet2008.5005s
    15Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda2009.6481s
    16Gabby ChavesBryan Herta AutosportDallara/Honda20010.1016s
    17Alex TaglianiAJ Foyt EnterprisesDallara/Honda20011.2151s
    18James JakesSchmidt Peterson MotorsportsDallara/Honda20012.0431s
    19Simona de SilvestroAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda20012.7328s
    20Carlos MunozAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda20039.8346s
    21Justin WilsonAndretti AutosportDallara/Honda1991 Lap
    22Pippa MannDale Coyne RacingDallara/Honda1973 Laps
    23Sebastian SaavedraChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Chevrolet175Contact
    24Jack HawksworthAJ Foyt EnterprisesDallara/Honda175Contact
    25Stefano ColettiKV Racing TechnologyDallara/Chevrolet175Contact
    26Tony KanaanChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Chevrolet151Contact
    27James DavisonDale Coyne RacingDallara/Honda116Mechanical
    28Tristan VautierDale Coyne RacingDallara/Honda116Mechanical
    29Oriol ServiaRahal Letterman LaniganDallara/Honda112Contact
    30Ed CarpenterCFH RacingDallara/Chevrolet112Contact
    31Bryan ClausonKVSH RacingDallara/Chevrolet61Contact
    32Sage KaramChip Ganassi RacingDallara/Chevrolet0Contact
    33Conor DalySchmidt Peterson MotorsportsDallara/Honda0Mechanical


    1Juan Pablo Montoya272
    2Will Power247
    3Scott Dixon211
    4Helio Castroneves206
    5Graham Rahal204
    6Josef Newgarden173
    7Sebastien Bourdais161
    8Charlie Kimball160
    9Marco Andretti151
    10Tony Kanaan147
    11Simon Pagenaud142
    12Ryan Hunter-Reay130
    13James Hinchcliffe129
    14Carlos Munoz122
    15Takuma Sato106
    16James Jakes99
    17Gabby Chaves99
    18Luca Filippi85
    19Jack Hawksworth76
    20Stefano Coletti75

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1104
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe