Kyle Kumaran wins 2021 Senior Max Rotax National Karting title

    Ruhaan Alva and Aditya Suresh Kamat won the Junior Max and Micro Max titles, respectively.

    Published On Dec 01, 2021 01:10:00 PM


    Kyle Kumaran wins 2021 Senior Max Rotax National Karting title

    Kyle Kumaran, 18, clinched his maiden national title, winning the 2021 Meco FMSCI National Karting Championship - Rotax Max, in the Senior Max category. The championship finale was held at Bengaluru’s Meco Kartopia Track.

    Ruhaan Alva and Aditya Suresh Kamat won the Junior Max and Micro Max titles, respectively. All three champions will now compete in the Rotax Max Grand Finals that will be held in Bahrain between December 11-18.

    • Three winners will compete in the Rotax Max Grand Finals
    • Peregrine Racing wins Senior Max Teams’ Championship

    Senior Max

    Kumaran dominated the season, winning nine out of 10 races to secure a total of 441 points. Fresh off his recent win in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) Nations Cup in the DD2 class, he also took home the awards for Driver of the Year and most number of wins and pole positions.

    “This is my first championship in India and I am glad we won it. We were consistent and my team, Peregrine Racing, did a good job and supported me well. I am looking forward to the Rotax Max World Finals. Wearing India colours and racing for Team India is a proud moment and I am eagerly looking forward to the Grand Finals in Bahrain,” said Kumaran.

    His teammate K Suriya Varathan finished second overall with 408 points. The duo’s results also helped Peregrine Racing win the Teams’ Championship in the senior category.  Meanwhile, 2012 champion Ameya Bafna finished third overall.

    The finale also saw Birel Art’s MR Rishon win a race.

    Championship results

    1. Kyle Kumaran (Peregrine Racing) – 441 points

    2.  K Suriya Varathan (Peregrine Racing) – 408 points

    3. Ameya Bafna (Rayo Racing) – 408 points

    Junior Max

    MSport's Ruhaan Alva, who recently won the X30 Senior title, took home his maiden Rotax Max National title in the Junior Max category. Abhay M pipped Rohaan Madesh to second place overall after the latter suffered a broken chain in the final round.

    MSport ended up winning the Teams’ Championship in this category. Rohaan Madesh won the first race of the finale, ahead of Peregrine’s Ishaan Madesh and MSport’s Jaden R Pariat. The final race was won by Alva, ahead of NK Racing Academy’s Veer Sheth and Birel Art’s Abhay M.

    Championship results

    1. Ruhaan Alva (MSport) – 430 points

    2. Abhay M (Birel Art India) – 404 points

    3. Rohaan Madesh (Peregrine Racing) – 398 points

    Micro Max – Cadet

    In the Micro Max category, Birel Art India's Aditya Suresh Kamat was crowned champion. The MSport duo of Anuj A and Arafath Sheikh finished second and third, respectively. As for the Team’s Championship, Birel Art India bagged the title.

    Arafath Sheikh and Aditya Suresh Kumar won races in the finale, with MSport’s Vedha Vishnu finishing second in both races.

    Championship results

    1. Aditya Suresh Kamat (Birel Art India) – 431 points

    2. Anuj A (MSport) – 414 points

    3. Arafath Sheikh (MSport) – 406 points


    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    At Rs 1.85 lakh, the Bajaj Pulsar NS400Z is the most affordable 40hp bike in India. Would you pick it over similarly priced bikes with less power and features?

    Yes, 40hp at this price is unheard of!



    No, it's a decade-old bike in a revamped suit.



    Great value but doesn't look unique enough.



    Total Votes : 1213
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe