Karun nominated to FIA drivers' commission

    Two-time world champion Emerson Fittipaldi was confirmed as president with nine-time World Rally champion Sebastien Loeb named as vice-president.

    Published On Mar 09, 2013 11:35:00 PM


    Karun nominated to FIA drivers' commission

    At the first 2013 meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council, the body confirmed that Indian racing ace Karun Chandhok has been nominated to be part of the newly created Drivers’ Commission.

    Two-time world champion Emerson Fittipaldi was confirmed as president of the new Drivers' Commission with nine-time World Rally champion Sebastien Loeb named as vice-president. Karun

    Chandhok will join the 1992 world champion Nigel Mansell and former Marussia test driver, Maria de Villota in representing the rights and interests of drivers in single-seaters. Plans to set up the Drivers' Commission were made last year following the granting of provisional recognition by the International Olympic Committee of the FIA as a federation.

    Interests of drivers across the disciplines will be represented by the following members:

    President:  Emerson Fittipaldi

    Vice-President: Sébastien Loeb

    Single-SeatersNigel Mansell, Karun Chandhok, Maria de Villota

    Sports Cars, GT, Touring Car: Emanuele Piro, Yvan Muller, Adrian Fernandez

    Rally, Cross Country Rally: Nasser Al Attiyah, Marcus Gronholm, Daniel Elena

    Other disciplines: Kenneth Hansen, Danilo Rossi, Keiko Ihara

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.


    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now
    Search By Car Price
    Poll of the month

    Which upcoming India-developed mid-capacity motorcycle are you most excited about?

    Next-gen KTM 390 Duke



    Royal Enfield Himalayan 450



    Hero’s 300cc plus Xpulse



    Bajaj-Triumph motorcycles



    Aprilia RS 440



    Total Votes : 14
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe