JK Tyre IndiKarting National Series launched

    The latest karting series is aimed at making karting more accessible to young drivers.

    Published On Apr 12, 2016 07:31:00 PM


    JK Tyre IndiKarting National Series launched

    JK Tyre has launched a new grassroot motorsport series, dubbed IndiKarting National Series. The latest karting series is aimed at making karting more accessible to young drivers.

    Karting is widely accepted the world over as the stepping stone for all forms circuit racing. The JK Tyre IndiKarting National Series, organised by RR Motorsports Management Pvt Ltd, will run a full calendar from April-June over five rounds in various cities.

    Tata Motors is onboard the project as well, which will feature single-make 4-stroke karts, which will not only ensure a level-playing field, but will also make it the most affordable karting championship in the world.

    The winners of the JK Tyre IndiKarting National Series will get a direct and sponsored drive in the JK Tyre National Rotax Max Karting Championship, which is the country’s only nationally recognised karting championship.

    Apart from that, winners in the senior category will get opportunities to race with some of the leading teams in JK Tyre National Racing Championship.     

    JK Tyre is credited with introducing the concept of karting in India way back in 2000 when it launched the National Karting Championship with 4-stroke karts. In 2004, the championship took a major step forward with the introduction of Rotax two-stroke karts.

    Today, the JK Tyre Rotax Max National Karting Championship is the only national karting championship in the country. Now, with the introduction of the latest four-stroke IndiKarting National Series, JK Tyre has further broad-based its karting programme that will benefit youngsters seeking to make a career in motorsports.

    Talking about this initiative, Mr. Sanjay Sharma, Head- Corporate Communication & Motorsports, JK Tyre & Industries Ltd said, “We are proud to present our latest initiative, the JK Tyre IndiKarting National Series; and believe that this championship will prove to be a milestone in the development programme of our budding drivers helping them to graduate to the next level.

    JK Tyre has always believed in promoting motorsport and making it more accessible and affordable to talent irrespective of affordability in a sport which has traditionally been highly inaccessible. I look forward to seeing some good raw talent emerge from this initiative, whom we can nurture to become India’s next racing star.”

     The five JK Tyre IndiKarting National Series, approved by the FMSCI, will begin with Pune hosting the first round on 23 & 24 April, followed by Goa, Vadodara, and Ludhiana before culminating in the National Capital Region. This series will comprise 3 categories - Pro Cadet for racers aged 7-12 years, Pro Junior for racers aged 12-16 years and Pro Senior for racers above 16 years of age.

     In addition to the three Pro classes, there will be seven classes of support races that will further broaden the appeal of the JK Tyre IndiKarting National Series. The support classes will include Senior Amateur, Interschool, Corporate, Masters (Age 32+), women & media.

    The karting programmes of JK Tyre have borne fruits both at national and international levels. Some of its prodigies like Narain Karthikeyan, Karun Chandhok, Armaan Ebrahim,  Aditya Patel and Arjun Maini, have gone on to become international motorsport stars.

    Apart from them, national champions such as Vishnu Prasad, Saran Vikram and Amaya Walavalkar to name a few have also emerged from various karting initiatives promoted by JK Tyres.    

    IndiKarting Series Calendar

    Round 1 - Pune. April 23 & 24
    Round 2 - Goa.  April 30 & May 1
    Round 3 - Vadodara. May 14 & 15
    Round 4 - Ludhiana. May 28 & 29
    Round 5 - Delhi. June  11 & 12

    Participants can enter the National Series by filling their entry forms at www.indikarting.com/jkreg

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 966
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe