INRC: Ghosh leads K1000 on day one

    The Kolkata driver led in INRC classification while Gaurav Gill and Karamjit Singh were fastest on the road at the end of day one.

    Published On Nov 10, 2013 02:22:00 AM


    INRC: Ghosh leads K1000 on day one

    Reigning INRC champion Amittrajit Ghosh (co-driver Ashwin Naik) leads the K-1000 rally at the end of day one with a lead of 1 minute, 29 seconds.

    In terms of fastest times though, Gaurav Gill (co-driver Musa Sherif) leads overall, driving the rally-prepped XUV 500 for Team Mahindra, followed by Karamjit Singh (co-driver Jagdev Singh) in second driving the Polo R2 – a special machine prepared by Volkswagen India for the 2014 season.

    However, both cars are not considered eligible for the official INRC classification (the XUV is fielded in the SUV class, while the Polo R2 is undergoing shakedown testing as it doesn’t adhere to the current regulations).

    The 2013 Asia Pacific Rally Champion was the fastest driver of the day – taking all six stage wins and ending the day a massive 2 minutes, 19 seconds ahead of second-placed Karamjit.

    In the INRC classification, Ghosh is followed by Prithvi Dominic (co-driver Pruthvi Ithal) in second and Rahul Kanthraj (co-driver Vivek Bhatt) trailing Dominic by eight seconds in third place – all three drivers piloting Group N-spec Mitsubishi Cedia cars.

    Seven-time national rally champion N Leelakrishnan’s much-anticipated comeback was let down by a blown oil pump on his Mitsubishi Evo X – the same car driven by Samir Thapar in earlier rounds. Navigated by Naren Kumar’s long-time navigator D Ramkumar, Leela’s day lasted only two stages before succumbing to the technical gremlin but he is likely to restart under Super Rally format on Sunday morning.

    INRC K1000 day one results (provisional)

    1. Amittrajit Ghosh/Ashwin Naik Mitubishi Cedia 01:03:28.7
    2. Prithvi Dominic/Pruthivi Ithal Mitubishi Cedia 01:04:57.5
    3. Rahul Kantharaj/Vivek Y Bhatt Mitsubishi Cedia 01:05:04.6

    INRC 1600:

    1. Arjun Rao/Satish Rajagopal VW Polo 01:05:59.5
    2. Sirish Chandran/Nikhil V Pai VW Polo 01:06:04.4
    3. Byram Godrej/Prajwal Pai VW Polo 01:11:53.3


    1. Karamjit Singh/Jagdev Singh VW Polo 01:01:45.5
    2 Sumit Panjabi/Prakhyath Shirole Mitubishi Cedia 01:16:47.1
    3 N Leelakrishnan/D Ramkumar* Mitubishi Evolution X 00:25:28.1

    * Will restart under super rally on Sunday

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    At Rs 1.85 lakh, the Bajaj Pulsar NS400Z is the most affordable 40hp bike in India. Would you pick it over similarly priced bikes with less power and features?

    Yes, 40hp at this price is unheard of!



    No, it's a decade-old bike in a revamped suit.



    Great value but doesn't look unique enough.



    Total Votes : 1273
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe