• slider image
  • slider image
1 / 0

India wins Nations Cup in 2020 Dubai Endurance Karting Championship

17th Dec 2020 2:27 pm

The all-Indian team, EBC Brakes, also scored just enough points to finish 2nd overall in the endurance karting championship.

Team EBC Brakes secured the Nations Cup for India in the 2020 Dubai Endurance Karting Championship. The all-Indian squad weathered a forgettable season finale, but secured just enough points to also finish second in the overall championship.

  • EBC Brakes win 2020 Nations Cup for India
  • Finish 2nd overall in Dubai Endurance Karting Championship
  • Aashi Hanspal becomes first Indian girl to compete in the championship

Dubai Kartdome 24 Hours race

Each round of the Dubai Endurance Karting Championship ups the difficulty level. Round 1 ran for 600 laps, while the next two rounds ran for six hours and 12 hours, respectively. The finale saw competitors battle it out on track for an arduous 24 hours.

EBC Brakes fielded Indian racers Arjun Manjunath, Rachit Singhal, Aditya Swaminathan, Aashi Hanspal and Jamie Shaw for the final round. Hanspal, who recently represented India in the FIA Girls on Track ‘Rising Stars’ initiative, has also become the first Indian girl to compete in the Dubai Endurance Karting Championship.

However, EBC Brakes endured a difficult time, tumbling down the order after qualifying in 8th place. The team ended up finishing down in 17th place - a disheartening result from the squad that won Round 3.

Superdryver Asterios ended up winning Round 4, while Motorsport Wheels took home the title after completing the race in 2nd place.

Indian team 2nd in Dubai Endurance Karting Championship

EBC Brakes, nevertheless, collected just enough points to hold on to the 2020 Nations Cup, edging out Stop and GO UAE by just five points. They also finished second in the overall standings, 40 points behind title winner, Motorsport Wheels.

Also see:

2020 JK NRC, Round 1: Ashwin Datta reigns supreme in LGB Formula 4

Hero MotoSports unveils 2021 Dakar Rally challenger

Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.