Hamilton claims dominant pole at Abu Dhabi

    The 2008 World Champion halted Red Bull's run of qualifying dominance with a dominant pole position at the Yas Marina Circuit.

    Published On Nov 04, 2012 06:13:00 AM


    Hamilton claims dominant pole at Abu Dhabi

    Lewis Hamilton halted Red Bull's run of qualifying dominance with a commanding run to pole position for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

    It was a disappointing qualifying session for both Formula 1's title contenders, with Sebastian Vettel only third behind Red Bull team-mate Mark Webber - but far better off than his Ferrari rival Fernando Alonso, who lines up only seventh.

    McLaren driver Hamilton had been quickest in two of the three Yas Marina practice sessions, led Q1 and Q2, then produced a 1m40.630s early in Q3 to immediately put himself 0.4 seconds clear of his opposition.

    A second pole shot might have been faster still, but once it became clear that Hamilton's rivals had no answer to his pace, the Briton backed off and pitted.

    Webber's 1m40.978s pushed Vettel off the front row. The points leader, hampered by a substantial loss of practice mileage, had pushed hard throughout qualifying - brushing a barrier in Q1, flying over kerbs in Q2, and then stopping on track after his unsuccessful final flying lap in Q3.

    Pastor Maldonado delivered the strong Williams qualifying result he had promised by grabbing fourth on the grid.

    Kimi Raikkonen improved to fifth for Lotus on his second Q3 run, with Jenson Button making similar gains to take sixth. Button had been as low as ninth at one stage, but a five-place and 0.6s gap to McLaren team-mate Hamilton will not please the 2009 champion.

    Alonso held fourth after the early Q3 runs, only to be shoved down to a potentially costly seventh as others improved. His team-mate Felipe Massa starts ninth, ahead of Romain Grosjean's Lotus.

    Nico Rosberg made just one run in Q3 and initially held fifth, before falling to eighth when his rivals came out again. Rosberg's performance was a boost for Mercedes on what had looked like being another disappointing weekend. His team-mate Michael Schumacher was only 14th, amid mutual apologies from team to driver over the radio.

    Force India and Sauber could not reach the top 10 this time. Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez filled row six, with Paul di Resta 13th in his new chassis and Kamui Kobayashi six tenths down on Perez in 16th after locking up on his last lap.

    Bruno Senna's run of tepid qualifying performances continued with 15th, 0.4s slower than Williams team-mate Maldonado in Q2.

    Having appeared to conquer his qualifying problems in the summer, Jean-Eric Vergne notched up his second straight Q1 exit - and his eighth of the year - in Abu Dhabi. The recently re-signed Toro Rosso driver was on course to make the cut before spinning. He pushed on for another lap, but his abused tyres had no more pace to offer. Vergne's team-mate Daniel Ricciardo brought up the rear of the Q2 field in 17th.

    Marussia pushed Caterham hard in the battle at the tail of the field. Although Heikki Kovalainen emerged in front again, he was only a tenth ahead of Charles Pic.

    Vitaly Petrov was right in the fight in the second Caterham too, but Timo Glock was puzzled by a relative lack of speed from his Marussia as he beat only the back-row dwelling HRTs.

    Pos  Driver                Team                 Time          Gap   
     1.  Lewis Hamilton        McLaren-Mercedes     1m40.630s
    2. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m40.978s + 0.348
    3. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m41.073s + 0.443
    4. Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 1m41.226s + 0.596
    5. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus-Renault 1m41.260s + 0.630
    6. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m41.290s + 0.660
    7. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m41.582s + 0.952
    8. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m41.603s + 0.973
    9. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m41.723s + 1.093
    10. Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1m41.778s + 1.148 Q2 cut-off time: 1m41.907s Gap ** 11. Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1m42.019s + 1.118 12. Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1m42.084s + 1.183 13. Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1m42.218s + 1.317 14. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m42.289s + 1.388 15. Bruno Senna Williams-Renault 1m42.330s + 1.429 16. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m42.606s + 1.705 17. Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m42.765s + 1.864 Q1 cut-off time: 1m43.582s Gap * 18. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m44.058s + 2.561 19. Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault 1m44.956s + 3.459 20. Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth 1m45.089s + 3.592 21. Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault 1m45.151s + 3.654 22. Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth 1m45.426s + 3.929 23. Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth 1m45.766s + 4.269 24. Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1m46.382s + 4.885 107% time: 1m48.601s
    * Gap to quickest in Q1
    ** Gap to quickest in Q2

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1243
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe