F1: Rosberg defeats Hamilton to win Mexican GP

F1: Rosberg defeats Hamilton to win Mexican GP

2nd Nov 2015 11:35 am

The pole-sitter held off a challenge from Hamilton at the start and then dictated the race, surviving a late safety car period.

Nico Rosberg took his first Formula 1 victory since June as he comfortably led home Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton in the first Mexican Grand Prix for 23 years.

The pole-sitter held off a challenge from Hamilton at the start and then dictated the race, surviving a late safety car period which cancelled out his lead to secure his fourth win of the season and 12th of his career.

Newly-crowned world champion Hamilton crossed the line second for his 15th podium in 17 races this season with Valtteri Bottas completing the podium.

Such was the pace of the two Mercedes that they were able to pit for a second time before the safety car came out and still rejoin in front of the rest of the field.

Hamilton questioned Mercedes' decision to bring him in, as he felt his tyres were in good shape, however his team insisted he had to pit for safety reasons, and he eventually relented.

The result means Rosberg reclaims second in the drivers' standings after Sebastian Vettel crashed out.

Vettel started third but collided with Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo at the first corner and picked up a puncture.

The four-time champion complained about Ricciardo's driving on team radio but though the stewards investigated the incident, they deemed no further action was necessary.

Vettel recovered to the pits but he had a messy race, spinning at the esses and then crashing out of the race at the same spot when the rear end of the car got away from him - bringing out the safety car.

There was more drama for Ferrari when Kimi Raikkonen collided with Valtteri Bottas for the second time in three races following their last-lap clash in Sochi.

The duo went side-by-side into Turn 4 with Bottas' front-left hitting Raikkonen's right-rear and breaking the Ferrari's suspension.

Raikkonen retired instantly, signalling Ferrari's first double retirement since the 2006 Australian Grand Prix.

Red Bull's Daniil Kvyat finished fourth, after losing a place to Bottas on the restart, while Daniel Ricciardo and Felipe Massa completed the top six.

Nico Hulkenberg was seventh, one place ahead of home favourite Sergio Perez, who received rapturous cheers throughout the grand prix and was the only driver who managed to only make one stop.

Max Verstappen and Romain Grosjean completed the top 10.

Pastor Maldonado missed out on his fourth consecutive points finish in 11th, with Marcus Ericsson, Carlos Sainz Jr, Jenson Button, Alexander Rossi and Will Stevens the other finishers.

McLaren's Fernando Alonso cited a lack of power just after the start and was told by the team to retire the car at the end of lap one.

Shortly before the restart Button radioed his team to say the brakes on Felipe Nasr's car were on fire and shortly after, the Sauber retired in the 55,000-seater stadium section, reporting his brakes were "finished".


1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1h42m35.038s 71
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1.954s 71
3 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 14.592s 71
4 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/Renault 16.572s 71
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 19.682s 71
6 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 21.493s 71
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 25.860s 71
8 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 34.343s 71
9 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Renault 35.229s 71
10 Romain Grosjean Lotus/Mercedes 37.934s 71
11 Pastor Maldonado Lotus/Mercedes 38.538s 71
12 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 40.180s 71
13 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 48.772s 71
14 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 49.214s 71
15 Alexander Rossi Marussia/Ferrari 2 Laps 69
16 Will Stevens Marussia/Ferrari 2 Laps 69
- Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari Brakes 57
- Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Spun off 50
- Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Collision 21
- Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda Power Unit 1


1 Lewis Hamilton 345
2 Nico Rosberg 272
3 Sebastian Vettel 251
4 Valtteri Bottas 126
5 Kimi Raikkonen 123
6 Felipe Massa 117
7 Daniil Kvyat 88
8 Daniel Ricciardo 84
9 Sergio Perez 68
10 Max Verstappen 47
11 Romain Grosjean 45
12 Nico Hulkenberg 44
13 Felipe Nasr 27
14 Pastor Maldonado 26
15 Carlos Sainz 18
16 Jenson Button 16
17 Fernando Alonso 11
18 Marcus Ericsson 9
19 Roberto Merhi 0
20 Alexander Rossi 0
21 Will Stevens 0


1 Mercedes 617
2 Ferrari 374
3 Williams/Mercedes 243
4 Red Bull/Renault 172
5 Force India/Mercedes 112
6 Lotus/Mercedes 71
7 Toro Rosso/Renault 65
8 Sauber/Ferrari 36
9 McLaren/Honda 27
10 Marussia/Ferrari 0
Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.