F1: Rosberg defeats Hamilton again in Brazilian GP

    Polesitter Rosberg came across on Hamilton as the duo approached the Senna S at the start, boldly defending his position to retain the lead.

    Published On Nov 15, 2015 11:41:00 PM


    F1: Rosberg defeats Hamilton again in Brazilian GP

    Nico Rosberg took his second successive Formula 1 victory as he comfortably led home Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton in the Brazilian Grand Prix.

    Polesitter Rosberg came across on Hamilton as the duo approached the Senna S at the start, boldly defending his position to retain the lead and from then dictated the race from the front.

    Newly-crowned champion Hamilton asked his team if it could tweak his strategy to give him a chance to beat Rosberg, but ultimately the Briton shadowed his team-mate on a three-stop and crossed the line 7.7 seconds adrift.

    They had briefly been nose to tail in the second stint, before Hamilton fell away with heavier tyre wear.

    Rosberg's fifth victory of the season secured second in the drivers' championship as his main rival for the position Sebastian Vettel could only finish third for Ferrari.

    It was a largely processional race with a small threat of rain in the closing stages never materialising and Rosberg lapping everyone up to fourth place.

    Ferrari was unable to challenge Mercedes. Vettel tried something different by running a second stint on the softs as most chose mediums but could not get closer and finished comfortably clear of two-stopping team-mate Kimi Raikkonen in third.

    Williams's Valtteri Bottas made a brilliant getaway from his penalised seventh on the grid to squeeze past Daniil Kvyat and Nico Hulkenberg for fifth.

    But that was as good as it got for the Finn, who stayed in that position for the remainder of the race and ensured his Williams team clinched third in the constructors' championship.

    Hulkenberg crossed the line sixth, ahead of Kvyat and Felipe Massa, whose Williams team was summoned to the stewards after the race in relation to a tyre pressure and temperature discrepancy on the grid.

    Romain Grosjean was ninth ahead of Max Verstappen, who made a series of passes in the final stint after choosing to run the soft.

    It was Verstappen's sixth successive points-scoring finish, which is record run for a Toro Rosso driver.

    It was a tougher day for his team-mate Carlos Sainz Jr, who had a problem on the grid and had to start from the pitlane before retiring on the first lap.

    Pastor Maldonado, who ended up 11th, collided with Marcus Ericsson at the Senna S, tipping the Sauber into a spin and incurring a five-second penalty.

    Daniel Ricciardo, running the updated Renault engine, was 12th, ahead of Felipe Nasr and McLaren duo Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso.

    Ericsson, who lost five places on the first lap when he ran wide at the Descida do Lago, continued after the contact with Maldonado but lost too much ground and finished 17th.

    The Manor-run Marussias of Will Stevens and Alexander Rossi, who will be replaced by Roberto Merhi for the final race in Abu Dhabi, completed the finishers in 18th and 19th respectively.

    RESULTS - 71 LAPS:

    1Nico RosbergMercedes1h31m09.090s
    2Lewis HamiltonMercedes7.700s
    3Sebastian VettelFerrari14.200s
    4Kimi RaikkonenFerrari47.500s
    5Valtteri BottasWilliams/Mercedes1 Lap
    6Nico HulkenbergForce India/Mercedes1 Lap
    7Daniil KvyatRed Bull/Renault1 Lap
    8Felipe MassaWilliams/Mercedes1 Lap
    9Romain GrosjeanLotus/Mercedes1 Lap
    10Max VerstappenToro Rosso/Renault1 Lap
    11Daniel RicciardoRed Bull/Renault1 Lap
    12Pastor MaldonadoLotus/Mercedes1 Lap
    13Sergio PerezForce India/Mercedes1 Lap
    14Felipe NasrSauber/Ferrari1 Lap
    15Jenson ButtonMcLaren/Honda1 Lap
    16Fernando AlonsoMcLaren/Honda1 Lap
    17Marcus EricssonSauber/Ferrari2 Laps
    18Will StevensMarussia/Ferrari4 Laps
    19Alexander RossiMarussia/Ferrari4 Laps
    -Carlos SainzToro Rosso/RenaultRetirement


    1Lewis Hamilton363
    2Nico Rosberg297
    3Sebastian Vettel266
    4Valtteri Bottas136
    5Kimi Raikkonen135
    6Felipe Massa121
    7Daniil Kvyat94
    8Daniel Ricciardo84
    9Sergio Perez68
    10Nico Hulkenberg52
    11Max Verstappen48
    12Romain Grosjean47
    13Felipe Nasr27
    14Pastor Maldonado26
    15Carlos Sainz18
    16Jenson Button16
    17Fernando Alonso11
    18Marcus Ericsson9
    19Roberto Merhi0
    20Alexander Rossi0
    21Will Stevens0


    4Red Bull/Renault178
    5Force India/Mercedes120
    7Toro Rosso/Renault66

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    The Mahindra XUV 300 facelift will be called the XUV 3XO. Should more brands rename models for facelifts?

    Yes, it could give new life to a slow-selling car



    Yes, but only if there are significant changes



    No, it's confusing and dilutes the brand name



    No difference, the product speaks for itself



    Total Votes : 1013
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe