F1: Rosberg beats Hamilton to Mexican GP pole

F1: Rosberg beats Hamilton to Mexican GP pole

1st Nov 2015 10:16 am

The German beat Mercedes F1 team-mate Lewis Hamilton to the top spot by 0.188 seconds.

Nico Rosberg claimed his fourth straight pole position in Formula 1 in qualifying for the Mexican Grand Prix.

The German beat Mercedes F1 team-mate Lewis Hamilton to the top spot by 0.188 seconds.

Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel was 0.370s adrift of Rosberg in third, claiming over team radio he "tried everything" to take the fight to the two silver cars.

Red Bull lost pace to its rivals in qualifying compared to practice on Friday, both cars ending up nearly a second adrift of pole.

Daniil Kvyat beat team-mate Daniel Ricciardo by just 0.001s as the RB11s placed fourth and fifth on the timesheet.

Valtteri Bottas rounded out the top six, just ahead of Williams team-mate Felipe Massa and the Toro Rosso of Max Verstappen.

Home hero Sergio Perez out-qualified team-mate Nico Hulkenberg by less than a tenth of a second as the two Force Indias completed the top 10.

Late improvements by Verstappen and Massa in Q2 meant Carlos Sainz Jr missed out on making the top-10 shootout by just 0.007s in the second Toro Rosso.

Romain Grosjean was 12th quickest, 0.223s faster than Lotus team-mate Pastor Maldonado and just over a tenth away from making Q3 himself.

Marcus Ericsson couldn't replicate the pace that put his Sauber 10th quickest in Q1, so he wound up 14th overall, ahead of the second Ferrari of Kimi Raikkonen.

The Finn complained of a problem with his brake pedal in Q1, where he ended up outside the top 10 in the times.

He then stopped midway through Q2 after spinning at Turn 1.

The 2007 world champion will incur a five-place grid penalty for a gearbox change following the breakdown he suffered with his SF15-T in final practice.

Fellow world champion Fernando Alonso squeaked ahead of the second Sauber of Felipe Nasr by 0.009s with his final flying lap, but the McLaren failed to escape Q1, along with the two Manor Marussias and his team-mate Jenson Button, who failed to take part in qualifying following engine problems in final practice.

Both McLarens will start at the back on account of incurring grid penalties for multiple engine changes earlier in the weekend.


1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m19.480s -
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m19.668s 0.188s
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1m19.850s 0.370s
4 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/Renault 1m20.398s 0.918s
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1m20.399s 0.919s
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1m20.448s 0.968s
7 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1m20.567s 1.087s
8 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Renault 1m20.710s 1.230s
9 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1m20.716s 1.236s
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1m20.788s 1.308s
11 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 1m20.942s 1.462s
12 Romain Grosjean Lotus/Mercedes 1m21.038s 1.558s
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus/Mercedes 1m21.261s 1.781s
14 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1m21.544s 2.064s
15 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1m21.788s 2.308s
16 Alexander Rossi Marussia/Ferrari 1m24.136s 4.656s
17 Will Stevens Marussia/Ferrari 1m24.386s 4.906s
18 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m22.494s 3.014s
19 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 1m21.779s 2.299s
20 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda - -

Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.