F1: Hamilton beats Rosberg to Spa win

    The reigning F1 champion made a good getaway and then held off a fast-starting Sergio Perez in the Force India at Les Combes to lead.

    Published On Aug 24, 2015 11:37:00 AM


    F1: Hamilton beats Rosberg to Spa win

    Lewis Hamilton beat Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg to victory in the Belgian Grand Prix to extend his Formula 1 world championship lead to 28 points.

    The reigning F1 champion made a good getaway and then held off a fast-starting Sergio Perez in the Force India at Les Combes to lead.

    Rosberg bogged down at the start, dropping to fifth, and though he recovered to second and started closing the gap to Hamilton, he was unable to get close enough to challenge.

    Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel was on course to complete the podium, after attempting a one-stop strategy that required a 29-lap stint on the mediums, but a right-rear tyre failure with a few laps to go ended his race.

    That allowed Romain Grosjean, who had been hustling Vettel, to give Lotus its first podium of the season - a big boost amid an uncertain future and legal battles.

    The start was initially aborted when Force India's Nico Hulkenberg encountered mechanical gremlins on the grid, waving his hands to signal he would be unable to get away.

    The field went round for a second formation lap while Hulkenberg was pushed into the pits where he retired the car.

    At the second time of asking, the field got away with Perez battling Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo into La Source and coming out on top to take second.

    Red Bull ran its Monza-spec at Spa, which allowed Daniil Kvyat and Ricciardo to attack on the straights.

    Kvyat charged to fourth after going out of sync on strategy, but last year's race winner Ricciardo was in contention for a podium, running third early on, before slowing and retiring on the exit of the Bus Stop. A brief virtual safety car was required while the Red Bull was retrieved.

    Perez secured his best result of the season with fifth in the Force India ahead of Williams's Felipe Massa and Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen, who rescued some points after starting 16th.

    Max Verstappen tried a move on Raikkonen at Les Combes on the last lap but ran out of road and had to settle for eighth, ahead of Valtteri Bottas, whose race unravelled when Williams mistakenly fitted his car with three soft tyres and a medium, which earned him a drive-through penalty.

    Sauber fitted the 2015-spec Ferrari engine to its cars for the first time this season with Marcus Ericsson benefiting from Vettel's late tyre failure to snatch the final point with 10th, one place ahead of team-mate Felipe Nasr.

    Vettel was classified 12th for his first non-scoring finish of the season.

    McLaren's Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso made brilliant getaways, on a weekend when drivers had to find their own clutch bite point under new rules.

    Alonso climbed from 20th and last to 12th while Button rose from 19th to 14th, but duo struggled on the high-speed Spa circuit and finished 13th and 14th respectively.

    Carlos Sainz Jr pulled into the pits after the formation lap, citing a loss of power, and though Toro Rosso managed to get him going, he retired with 11 laps to go.

    Lotus's Pastor Maldonado was unable to take advantage of his top 10 start as he parked the car early in the race with a mechanical problem.

    RESULTS - 43 LAPS:

    1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1h23m40.387s
    2Nico RosbergMercedes2.058s
    3Romain GrosjeanLotus/Mercedes37.988s
    4Daniil KvyatRed Bull/Renault45.692s
    5Sergio PerezForce India/Mercedes53.997s
    6Felipe MassaWilliams/Mercedes55.283s
    7Kimi RaikkonenFerrari55.703s
    8Max VerstappenToro Rosso/Renault56.076s
    9Valtteri BottasWilliams/Mercedes1m01.040s
    10Marcus EricssonSauber/Ferrari1m31.234s
    11Felipe NasrSauber/Ferrari1m42.311s
    12Sebastian VettelFerrariTyre
    13Fernando AlonsoMcLaren/Honda1 Lap
    14Jenson ButtonMcLaren/Honda1 Lap
    15Roberto MerhiMarussia/Ferrari1 Lap
    16Will StevensMarussia/Ferrari1 Lap
    -Carlos SainzToro Rosso/RenaultPower Unit
    -Daniel RicciardoRed Bull/RenaultElectrical
    -Pastor MaldonadoLotus/MercedesTransmission
    -Nico HulkenbergForce India/MercedesNot started


    1Lewis Hamilton227
    2Nico Rosberg199
    3Sebastian Vettel160
    4Kimi Raikkonen82
    5Felipe Massa82
    6Valtteri Bottas79
    7Daniil Kvyat57
    8Daniel Ricciardo51
    9Romain Grosjean38
    10Max Verstappen26
    11Sergio Perez25
    12Nico Hulkenberg24
    13Felipe Nasr16
    14Pastor Maldonado12
    15Fernando Alonso11
    16Carlos Sainz9
    17Marcus Ericsson7
    18Jenson Button6
    19Roberto Merhi0
    20Will Stevens0


    4Red Bull/Renault108
    6Force India/Mercedes49
    7Toro Rosso/Renault35

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    At Rs 1.85 lakh, the Bajaj Pulsar NS400Z is the most affordable 40hp bike in India. Would you pick it over similarly priced bikes with less power and features?

    Yes, 40hp at this price is unheard of!



    No, it's a decade-old bike in a revamped suit.



    Great value but doesn't look unique enough.



    Total Votes : 1026
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe