Dakshin Dare: Ahluwalia takes early lead

    The last year's winner leads the field at the end of day one, followed by Sandeep Sharma in second while Suresh Rana lies sixth.

    Published On Aug 06, 2014 02:05:00 AM


    Dakshin Dare: Ahluwalia takes early lead

    At the end of day one of the 2014 Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare, defending winner Amanpreet Ahluwalia (co-driver Sudeep) leads the rally from the Team Maruti duo of Sandeep Sharma and Varun Davessar.

    Druva (Roopesh) are in third, with Suresh Rana, also from Team Maruti,  currently lies sixth, with the top six drivers separated by one minute.

    In the Extreme Bikes class, defending winner Natraj maintained his lead on day one, followed by Mohit Verma and Promod Joshua in second and third respectively.

    Amanpreet commented, “Day one was a thrilling start to the rally. The competition gets tougher every year as the bar in this motorsport is raised higher and higher."

    "It has always been a close call with the likes of Suresh Rana, Sandeep Sharma and Sanjay Agarwal, all renowned rally drivers in their own right. The Dakshin Dare experience is everything a rally driver can truly ask for and I’m proud to be a part of it”, he added. 

    In the Endurance category, Karthik Maruti-Shankar Anand of Team Maruti are leading at the end of  ay one. 

    Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare, Leg 1:

    Extreme Cars:

    Amanpreet Ahluwalia/ Sudeep 30:35
    Sandeep Sharma/ Varun Davessar 30:42
    Druva/ Roopesh  31:03 

    Extreme Bikes:

    Natraj 30:56
    Mohit Verma 32:18
    Pramod Joshua 32:22 

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    At Rs 1.85 lakh, the Bajaj Pulsar NS400Z is the most affordable 40hp bike in India. Would you pick it over similarly priced bikes with less power and features?

    Yes, 40hp at this price is unheard of!



    No, it's a decade-old bike in a revamped suit.



    Great value but doesn't look unique enough.



    Total Votes : 1172
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe