Beijing Formula E: Prost/Heidfeld crash gives di Grassi victory

    Prost made a clear move to his left as Heidfeld tried to edge alongside and the two cars collided.

    Published On Sep 13, 2014 03:59:00 PM


    Beijing Formula E: Prost/Heidfeld crash gives di Grassi victory

    Lucas di Grassi inherited victory in the inaugural race of the new Formula E Championship in Beijing when leader Nicolas Prost and second-place Nick Heidfeld collided at the final corner.

    Venturi driver Heidfeld, who had jumped from fourth to second when the drivers changed cars mid-race, made a move on the leading e.dams Spark-Renault SRT_01E into the final tight left hander after getting a run out of the penultimate corner.

    Prost made a clear move to his left as Heidfeld tried to edge alongside and the two cars collided.

    The German driver careered out of control into the barriers and flipped, but was able to extricate himself from the wreck unaided.

    Steering damage prevented Prost from making the final corner, which allowed di Grassi to sweep through to make history as the first winner of the all-electric championship in his Audi Sport-supported Abt entry.

    "We were a bit lucky, but I was happy to be in the right place today," said di Grassi.

    "I didn't see the accident, but the main thing is that Nick is OK, which proves that this car is absolutely safe."

    Franck Montagny collected second place in his Andretti Autosport Spark-Renault after making progress from eighth on the grid.

    The Frenchman gained a place on the opening lap at the expense of team-mate Charles Pic, was up to fifth by the time the pitstop sequence started in the middle of the race and then resumed in fourth after the stops.

    Sam Bird, who had started 12th in his Virgin entry, took the final podium spot, after Abt driver Daniel Abt was penalised for using more electric energy than allowed.

    Abt was demoted to 10th behind Pic, Mahindra driver Karun Chandhok, who lost out to both Bird and the Frenchman after his battery overheated in the closing laps, Jerome d'Ambrosio, Oriol Servia and Nelson Piquet Jr.

    RESULTS - 25 LAPS:

    1Lucas di GrassiAbt52m23.413s
    2Franck MontagnyAndretti2.867s
    3Sam BirdVirgin6.559s
    4Charles PicAndretti19.301s
    5Karun ChandhokMahindra23.952s
    6Jerôme D'AmbrosioDragon31.664s
    7Oriol ServiaDragon41.968s
    8Nelsinho PiquetChina43.896s
    9Stephane SarrazinVenturi43.975s
    10Daniel AbtAbt1m02.507s
    11Jaime AlguersuariVirgin2m00.613s
    12Nicolas Proste.damsCollision
    13Nick HeidfeldVenturiCollision
    14Michela CerrutiTrulli1 Lap
    15Katherine LeggeAguri1 Lap
    16Ho-Pin TungChina2 Laps
    -Takuma SatoAguriRetirement
    -Sebastien Buemie.damsRetirement
    -Jarno TrulliTrulliRetirement
    -Bruno SennaMahindraRetirement

    Includes 57s penalties for Abt, Alguersuari and Legge

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1125
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe