Bautista claims maiden MotoGP pole

    Spies took a season's best second place for Yamaha with Stoner third and world Lorenzo fourth as rain curtailed British GP qualifying at Silverstone.

    Published On Jun 17, 2012 03:37:00 PM


    Bautista claims maiden MotoGP pole

    Alvaro Bautista claimed his maiden MotoGP pole position as rain curtailed British Grand Prix qualifying at Silverstone.

    The 27-year-old Spaniard, who is set to start his 37th premier class grand prix on Sunday, hit the front with 15 minutes of the hour remaining as his 2m03.303s lap put him a tenth of a second ahead of Yamaha's Ben Spies.

    Spies went out to challenge for pole a few minutes later, but was caught out at the Maggotts/Becketts complex as the rain began to fall and ran off the track, ruining his lap.

    Despite the track becoming damp several riders, including Casey Stoner and Jorge Lorenzo, went out in search of improvement. Neither managed to move up the order though, allowing Bautista to give the Gresini Honda squad its first pole since last year's Dutch TT.

    Spies took a season's best second place for Yamaha with Honda rider Stoner third and world championship leader Lorenzo fourth.

    Dani Pedrosa was fifth for Honda with Pramac Ducati rider Hector Barbera a superb sixth on the best of the Ducatis.

    Factory riders Nicky Hayden and Valentino Rossi had near identical crashes at the entrance to Club during the session and could do no better than seventh and 10th. They were split by Tech 3 Yamaha rider Andrea Dovizioso and LCR Honda man Stefan Bradl.

    Aleix Espargaro was the best of the CRT riders, the Spaniard putting his Aspar Aprilia 11th, a spot ahead of his team-mate Randy de Puniet.

    Pos  Rider             Team/Bike                 Time      Gap
     1.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda             2m03.303s
     2.  Ben Spies         Yamaha                    2m03.409s  + 0.106s
     3.  Casey Stoner      Honda                     2m03.423s  + 0.120s
     4.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                    2m03.763s  + 0.460s
     5.  Daniel Pedrosa    Honda                     2m03.835s  + 0.532s
     6.  Hector Barbera    Pramac Ducati             2m03.876s  + 0.573s
     7.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                    2m04.162s  + 0.859s
     8.  Andrea Dovizioso  Tech 3 Yamaha             2m04.304s  + 1.001s
     9.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda                 2m05.035s  + 1.732s
    10.  Valentino Rossi   Ducati                    2m05.416s  + 2.113s
    11.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia             2m06.283s  + 2.980s
    12.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia             2m06.303s  + 3.000s
    13.  Yonni Hernandez   Avintia FTR-Kawasaki      2m06.814s  + 3.511s
    14.  Michele Pirro     Gresini FTR-Honda         2m07.016s  + 3.713s
    15.  Colin Edwards     Forward Suter-BMW         2m07.376s  + 4.073s
    16.  Mattia Pasini     Speed Master Aprilia      2m07.511s  + 4.208s
    17.  James Ellison     Paul Bird Aprilia         2m08.228s  + 4.925s
    18.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Aprilia              2m08.686s  + 5.383s
    19.  Ivan Silva        Avintia Inmotec-Kawasaki  2m10.092s  + 6.789s

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1104
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe